Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Scanning memories

17 Comments

Technology. It frustrates me, confuses me, tests my patience, pushes my buttons. I’m not even on the learning curve but usually somewhere far behind it. So I’m feeling pretty progressive these days as I help a friend scan her family photos. And I try not to think about discussions we had in library grad school about technology changing and future generations (or even sooner) having to move collections of documents and data to whatever the latest viewing technology is available. That someday no one will be able to view CDs full of data unless they have an antique reading device. And that paper documents still available from centuries ago are still readable if they were preserved.

But that’s another blog.

This one is about the process of providing access to memories for everyone. The way to distribute family photos among surviving members electronically, quickly and efficiently. And that’s a misnomer in itself. Once a file is complete the transfer to other people will be quick. But putting that file together takes a long time.

I love the 'mid-century-ish" of this.  And it was mid century too

I love the ‘mid-century-ness” of this. And it was mid-century too.

I cleaned out a closet this week and found a box filled with random photos, some of them very old, of family. They are so fun to look at, and bring back so many memories that I want to share them with my brothers and sister. So I’m scanning them into a file. And I’ve found that scanning a friend’s family photos is much faster than scanning my own.

Working through a pile of photos spanning my own history takes time. Time to peruse each image, each face, to take in the background and figure out which house, which city, which trip, which year. To sort out which baby image belongs to which child.

Time slips away as I am immersed. And then the dog barks, or the snow slides noisily off the roof, and I am jolted back to reality. Mom and Dad are gone. My brothers and sister live far away. I miss them all but am still very thankful that I have the memories captured in these random photos.

And so I scan the next picture and smile at the baby smiling back and remember summer days and adventures from long ago. Someday this project will be complete and I’ll be giving them their memories for review. I hope they enjoy them as much as I did putting it all together.

I can’t see how they won’t. Who can resist pictures of cute kids?

Lean on me...

Lean on me…

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “Scanning memories

  1. A few years ago I scanned photos of my kids growing up years and made books for each of us. That project followed the book of photos that I had of the families of my mother and father and their youth. How I wished I had asked more questions of them when they were alive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m also working on a book of my parents childhood years. Separate project, more dependent on getting photos from his sister. I have almost collected them all from her, waiting on one more. Then I will make a book for her and each of the 6 kids they had between them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My father was an avid photographer and took nearly all slides – there is now little machines that can transfer these to computer graphics….sadly most of his slides darkened with age about 15 years ago (before these new machines so are sadly gone forever.

    Like

    • My dad took a lot of slides too. So did I. A few years ago we looked at some of dad’s slides, and my brother took a few carousels of them home and ‘digitized’ them by taking digital pictures of them as they shown on the screen. I’m glad he was able to salvage some.

      Like

  3. Good idea, Dawn! Nice of you to do this for your siblings…and yourself! Nothing like a trip (or two or three) down Memory Lane.

    Like

  4. Well you’re much more patient than I am! I wanted to have all my parent’s old slides converted to digital for their 50th wedding anniversary….but I paid a company to do it for me. But, they also “fixed” them for me so the quality was fantastic.

    We all enjoyed the trip down memory lane when we watched the dvd.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dad’s got a gazillion slides too. So do I for that matter. I’m afraid to go pull mine out to see if there’s anything left. I bet the DVD of the slides was great . I think I’d want to edit some and not have them copy everything. There’s a LOT.

      Like

  5. What a big job but such an important and valuable thing to do for your family. I have boxes of old family photos and I don’t know who the people are in many of them. Like Carol, I wish I’d asked my parents and my siblings more questions.

    Like

    • I was lucky in that my mom wrote on the back of nearly every one. So I’ve put notes into the file with the information from the backs. Others I can figure out. Only a few questions, and those I just left out of this particular project.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. New technology can be a challenge, but it’s also very helpful for instance taking care of old photo memories and make them available for many more. Enjoy scanning your own history—even if it takes some work. 🙂

    Like

  7. This is exactly why it’s so important to get photos printed. No one ever displays a CD or USB stick in a frame or an album 😉

    Like

  8. My cousin and I have been collaborating on random family history stories with illustrations. It’s very educational. Also fun. Also sad. We are getting old, and have become the ones to ask, the others being pretty much gone.

    I have books and books of pictures of Rob the Firefighter as a toddler – many of them very nearly identical. I cannot bear to let go of a single one. One day I’m sure they will all be pitched into a landfill, but not while I’m breathing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

