Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: State of Mind

27 Comments

Last week we were running through the park in shorts.

But this is Michigan, so this week is different. Can you guess what my state of mind was when I snapped this?

The weather outside is frightful.

The weather outside is frightful.

You would be correct.

For other interpretations of ‘state of mind’ check the link. Or visit a few of my favorites (so far) here, here and here.

Seems obvious to me that the ground hog lied back at the beginning of this month.

Pretty though

Pretty though

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

27 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: State of Mind

  1. Oh, you poor thing — that looks wretched!! We’ve got 60s today and sunshine, but that’s supposed to change on Tuesday to rain and snow…again. Sigh. I’m ready to throttle that groundhog!

    Like

  2. It is such a different world when the sun is out and shines down on the snow…It is about 60 here today, the lilacs have broken bud and the leaves are now visible.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wondering what the state of your snow is now. I donned mesh running shoes, a t-shirt, jacket, and capri yoga pants and went for a run today. In February. I can’t believe it.

    Like

    • Yesterday we had a lot of melt, and then last night it rained pretty good. So we have lots of open ground now. But more snow is predicted. Run while you can!

      Like

      • Word on the street is that Lansing got 12″. How did you fare? We got about 6″ of easy, fluffy lake effect. No running, but easy shoveling at least!

        Like

        • According to the weather guy (and why should we believe him?) in this area we got 6.3 inches. It was wet and slushy and made the snowblowing this morning sort of tough but I didn’t do it, so it wasn’t that bad! 🙂 Husband just came in from clearing the driveway. Roads were a mess this morning. I am sooooo glad I am retired!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. What can you expect from an eastern groundhog?

    Like

  5. It IS pretty, and I would like a storm so I could try out my unused year old snow shoes…BUT I did enjoy our sunny 58 degree day here.

    Like

    • Snow shes can be used next year. I think we just want to end this now if we can. Though probably not. I guess you’d be ok with just a 2 day storm, in the middle of the week so you’d get two snow days…right? I could live with that.

      Like

  6. Fortunately, that missed us here in Wisconsin. I hope you had warmer weather today so some of that white stuff could melt.

    Like

  7. wow that’s a lot of snow! stay warm!

    Like

  8. I’m glad I’m not the only one with snow this week. Hang in there…spring is 22 days away 💐

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: WPC: State of Mind (The Eye) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  10. Dare I tell you it is bright sunny and 78 degrees here today 🙂

    Like

  11. The groundhog has just under two weeks to make good on his prognostication. Meanwhile I have been googling Groundhog Stew.

    Like

  12. I think you are leaping to hasty judgment on the groundhog. Today is only March 1st!

    Like

  13. I spent the first 34 years of my life in Michigan. I remember scenes like this very well. But fortunately they are now just a memory. I still think very fondly of Michigan and the years I lived there… but I wouldn’t trade the southern Arizona life for anything now.

    Like

    • Giggle. Husband says next winter we are going somewhere else (as in warm). We’ll see. Being retired makes all the difference, knowing I don’t have to get up and deal with the snow if I don’t want to. And I rarely want to.

      We’ve been out to Arizona a few times, and NM too. I want to retire there, husband is waffling on location of retirement. What I need is a really good horrible winter here to convince him. This winter was not that. And last winter he spent in Alabama, so I figure next winter ought to convince him it’s time to move.

      Like

Leave a Reply

