Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress photo challenge: Seasons

21 Comments

Here in lower Michigan we’ve been confused by the seasons. It’s supposed to be cold and snowy in February. In fact this time last year we had wind, drifts of snow, and frigid below zero temperatures.

So you can imagine our joy at the temperatures this February. And the lack of snow. Sure there are piles of it in the shadowy woods or where city trucks dump their street slush. But mostly, around here, it feels as though we dodged the winter bullet.

Temperatures in the 40’s F (4.44 C) had people running around town like it was the middle of summer. Out at the park I actually stalked a runner for this photo challenge.

I had just finished my own 3.5 mile walk/run, and was climbing into my car for the ride home when I spotted him starting out. I loved that he was wearing shorts in February and that his shirt was bright green. So I shoved the car into gear and raced to a parking lot one mile down the road, where I leaped out and trotted a ways up the path, positioning myself on a curve, pretending to take pictures of the dried up winter lake, when in fact what I wanted was him running in shorts in February in Michigan.

Warm run in February.

Warm run in February.

To show you that ‘seasons’ can’t always be predicted, and staying flexible is always important.

You can see other interpretations of this challenge at the original post. Or visit a few of my favorites here, here and here.

What season is it at your house? Please share with us, especially if it’s tropical. Because here in Michigan we know for sure that this little respite will be brief and winter will be back with a vengeance soon. So we’ll live vicariously through your photos until June or so when we can enjoy our own summer sun.

Just ignore that pile of snow.

Just ignore that pile of snow.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “WordPress photo challenge: Seasons

  1. it is crazy weather – we had a beautiful sunny 80 degrees yesterday and had to wear t-shirts 🙂

    Like

  2. can’t believe I am saying this, but I am STILL DYING TO FINALLY HAVE A SNOWSTORM IN MICHIGAN this year!!!! I am one that has not enjoyed this strange weather, it isn’t normal!! DakotasDen

    Like

  3. The weather seems weird all over the place it has been warm here too.
    Always love your interpretation of these themes!
    Here it is rainy season, although it is supposed to be winter and I have complained quite a lot about that already!
    hehe!

    Like

  4. Dawn, 3.5 miles — I’m impressed. It’s winter-spring at our house. Remember Princess Summer-Fall-Winter-Spring?

    Like

  5. It’s been a crazy winter, that’s for sure. I love your interpretation of the vagaries of the season. 🙂

    As for what season it is for us, it’s hard to say. It’s looking like spring, but they are saying it will get cold again this week. We shall have to wait and see.

    Like

  6. we have had a warm winter to and little snow, which I can’t say I am unhappy about!! Love that little patch of snow and a runner in shorts in February!

    Like

  7. We had nearly 70 degrees on Sunday and by Wednesday, we’re looking at 2-4 inches of snow! Talk about crazy weather!! Dawn, I’m impressed that you circled back and got a photo of the runner in shorts — good one!

    Like

  8. We are still covered in snowpack, but I was able to run around the park the other day with Petey – no coat for me – and I haven’t worn boots for a few days! It’s winter, I guess, but not a usual one.
    I like that you stalked the runner. He made a great photo op 🙂

    Like

    • I hope the runner didn’t even notice me. Hate to creep him out. It’s snowing hard here now…(Wednesday)…are you guys going to get this too?

      Like

      • They initially thought we were only going to get 1-2″, but they increased our expected amounts to 3-5″. We got groceries earlier so that we could avoid the post-work rush tonight. They don’t have us down for any lake effect, but I’d be shocked if we came away unscathed. We’re expecting >20mph winds from the north all day tomorrow.
        Hope you guys enjoy the snow. Or at least that Katie enjoys it 😉

        Like

  9. Looks like spring to me! At my place we have all kinds of weather for the time being. Rain, hail, sleet, some snow, lots of wind and an occasionally glimpse of sun. 🙂

    Like

  10. I was just scrolling through your posts from the past week, from the top and saw all the snow, and then came down to this post. Looks like you spoke a bit soon, eh? Although you did say that you were sure you’d be back to the typical snowy weather soon and obviously you were correct. I have no idea what season it is here in Massachusetts. It has been a rollercoaster of temperatures this month from a few frigid cold below zero nights to daytime highs in the 50’s – expected today! We even had a night this past week when the temperatures when the temperatures went UP during the night – when I let Teddy out for the last time before I went to bed, it was nearly 60 degrees and humid outside! What the heck? I’m very curious to see what March will bring!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: WordPress Photo Challenge: State of Mind | Change Is Hard

Leave a Reply

