Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Creative types

15 Comments

Fun stuff.

Fun stuff.

Almost two weeks ago I showed you all the things people were doing in the middle of a Michigan winter out at my favorite park. And I mentioned that there were also a number of artists painting there that day, so many that I figured they deserved their own post.

And now two weeks have passed in a flash.

So before more time slips through my fingers, let me show some very talented people at work capturing their vision of my favorite park. They were spread out near the nature center, some along the bike/running path…

Painters and runners share space.

Painters and runners share space.

…some tucked further into the woods.

Painting in the woods.

Painting in the woods.

Most were focused on parts of the lake, fringed with cattails and surrounded by bare trees against the brilliant blue sky.

There's beauty everywhere.

There’s beauty everywhere.

It was cold that day, and they were painting while dressed in heavy coats or hunting gear, scarfs, gloves, hats.

Staying warm with art.

Staying warm with art.

But the cold certainly didn’t dampen their enthusiasm. Their work was beautiful. I wanted to stop and talk to each of them about what they were doing, but they seemed very intense. So I admired from afar.

Something else I admired from afar was this guy. Or girl.

Our national bird.

Our national bird.

This photo is cropped 3 times, the bald eagle was sitting in the top of a heron rookery far out in the middle of a lake. I’ve never seen one this far south, and I wouldn’t have seen this one if he or she hadn’t flown in with a huge stick while I was across the street watching artists. I saw movement out of the corner of my eye. There was a fringe of trees between us, and I wasn’t sure what I was seeing. So I ran back to the nature boardwalk and looked through my long lens.

I still couldn’t believe it.

I stayed a long time watching the eagle watch all of us. And if it weren’t for the cold I might be there still. I felt privileged to have witnessed the low flight of this bird, and its sweep up to the top of that tree. Eagles are very special in our family and I’m so glad to have seen this one. Another photographer said a pair of them was around that lake all last summer, though I never saw or heard anything about eagles being there. I’ll keep a sharper eye out this summer and keep you posted.

An incredible day captured.

An incredible day captured.

Meanwhile…the artists were packing up and headed home to warm up and reminisce about their lovely day at the park. I decided I would too.

Maybe someday I’ll try oil painting. I think it would be fun, but probably frustrating, to capture my version of things I see. If I give it a shot you guys will be the first to know. And I hope I see the artists and my bald eagle out at the park again this spring and summer. I’ll let you know about that too.

Waiting and watching.

Waiting and watching.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “Creative types

  1. I’m surprised the paint didn’t freeze on the brushes! I’ve always admired people that could paint what they see.

    Like

    • I wondered about that paint freezing thing too. I ran into another plein aire artist a few years ago. I think she said there was some additive she put in to make the paint stay malleable longer.

      Like

  2. I did some oil painting many years ago. Tried a little watercolor, which I found more difficult. A couple of years ago I bought some tubes of acrylic, an easel, and a couple of canvases, thinking I would try an easier cleanup medium. They still sit in a corner, unused. Maybe some day.

    Like

  3. Yes Dawn, get the paints back out. I see your geese on the rock everytime I visit my brother.

    Like

  4. I have never been able to paint what I see, or even what I’d like to see. I can’t get it out of my head. I don’t have that problem with a camera. I can go in knowing what I want to create, and then create it. It’s great that people have so many ways of creative expression 🙂

    Like

  5. These brave folks make me shiver, just looking at them bundled up against the cold! I’m definitely not an artist — I do good just to draw stick people — but something tells me I’d be taking a photo of a particular scene, then racing inside where it’s warm to try to recapture it!!

    Like

    • My mom liked to paint from photographs too. I think that helps, in that it takes the 3 dimensional object and makes it 2 dimensional, just like a painting. At least it helps me. These artists did inspire me though…to try outside someday.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Time moves a light speed, doesn’t it…Love your shot of the bald eagle.

    Like

  7. Oh my dog! Mommy saw a bald eagle this weekend in NJ in her neighborhood on the lake. She only had her cell phone on her, and couldn’t take a photo like you. But Mommy said it was pawsome to see a bald eagle up close.

    We thought it was neat how the one painter used a walker with tray as a table to hold the painting supplies. Mommy thought it was very clever and a good way to repurpose an item.

    Like

  8. I am beyond enthralled with the Bald Eagle! Never knew there were even any in Michigan and how lucky you were to see one!
    With all of the artists (that is a highly unusual number for one day), I am wondering if it was a class and they spaced themselves out? Have never seen that many people painting in a park on one day! DakotasDen

    Like

  9. This is absolutely killing me. They make antifreeze for paints?! I love it. I love that people are willing to sacrifice a bit of discomfort to stand out in the cold to witness Nature’s beauty. Michigan folk are at least smart enough to wear skidoo suits!

    Like

Leave a Reply

