Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

A place

21 Comments

Sun sets on another magical day.

Sun sets on another magical day.

What is it about a place? What is it that imprints a place on your heart? What makes a place feel like home whenever you’re there, even if it isn’t?

Sand ripples in rose light.

Sand ripples in rose light.

Are there places that put a magic spell over you? That cling to you when it’s time to leave, begging you not to go?

Wide expanse of beautiful.

Wide expanse of beautiful.

Can you only have one special place like this? Or can a person have these feelings in more than one? Does everyone have such a place, perhaps hidden in their heart?

Happy little wave.

Happy little wave.

And who among us is lucky enough to live in that place that tugs at their heart? For a few months or even full time?

Orchards resting until spring.

Orchards resting until spring.

I’ve spent two weeks in one of my special places, way up in the tip of Michigan’s little finger.

Used to be a working farm.

Used to be a working farm.

But I feel the same sense of belonging, the same tug on my heart when I’m in the Keweenaw Peninsula way way up north. So I know I can love more than one place at a time.

Maybe it’s the peninsula thing. Being on a spit of land surrounded by huge bodies of water. Maybe it’s being far away from a city and city lights.

Celebrating magical places.

Celebrating magical places.

Maybe it’s the crisp air, the huge vistas, the wind in the trees and the splash of waves on the beach.

In the shadow of Sleeping Bear.

In the shadow of Sleeping Bear.

Maybe it’s just magic. Maybe it doesn’t have to be understood.

Mountains of fun.

Mountains of fun.

Maybe it just is.

The magic begins in nature.

The magic begins in nature.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “A place

  1. Maybe it just is – maybe it’s just meant to be felt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maybe because it makes your heart be happy & sing! 🙂 Lovely!

    Like

  3. Gorgeous place, Dawn. I think you’re onto something — perhaps there are many places we could feel just like that, even places we haven’t been yet!

    Like

  4. such peaceful places

    Like

  5. The beach – salt water – it tugs at me where ever I have lived – and I have never been happier than when I am close to it 🙂

    Like

  6. I think you can have more than one special place, but for me, I really only have one home. That’s where I pretty much always want to be. Every time I travel, I can’t wait to get back.

    Like

  7. beautiful post- I know what you mean. Being near the water is wonderful and with beautiful vistas all around

    Like

  8. Beautiful. Especially love the first photo.

    Like

  9. I definitely think a few places can feel like home. I’m so fortunate to live where I love.

    Like

  10. Stunning pictures and places! 🙂

    Like

  11. Yes, its’ magic and who are we to try to unravel nature’s mysteries? I feel very attracted to lots of places myself. Anyplace I live in for a while I call home and it stays in my heart forever.
    Your favourite places are beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

