Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Back to the walk

6 Comments

It was a wonderful day today, one of my last in northern Michigan. I had lunch with friends down in Traverse City and then I came back through a beautiful gentle snowfall and fell asleep on the sofa with the cat. Perfect.

Since I didn’t take photos (well only a few) I thought I’d take you back to the Clay Cliffs Natural Area where I walked Saturday afternoon. I’d been there a few days before, and I almost didn’t go back Saturday but the sun came out and the sky turned blue and I figured why not take advantage of beautiful weather to make it all the way around the trails there. (If you remember I walked there before but got nervous about becoming lost because I hadn’t studied the map before I started walking, so I turned around and didn’t finish.)

Last time I was here there were 10 or 11 inches of fresh snow and only a couple people had walked the trails ahead of me. Each step was through deep snow and while it was beautiful, it was also taxing. This time multitudes of people had tromped through the woods prior to me. The path was wide and definite and easy to maneuver. I set off at a good pace.

An obvious path makes the walk easier.

An obvious path makes the walk easier.

I was more confident, knew where I was going, and the shortest way to get there. No meandering for me! Plus I wanted to get ahead of these guys who were getting all geared up with snowshoes and poles and stuff. I ran into them again on my way back out of the woods.

You really didn't need snowshoes.

You really didn’t need snowshoes.

Pretty soon I was all the way at the back of the preserve; I could hear the lake’s chop distinctly. Around another curve and there was the viewing platform.

Wonder what I'll see?

Wonder what I’ll see?

I had hoped there would be stairs leading down to the beach so that I could actually see the clay cliffs, but there wasn’t any way to get down there. The lake sure was pretty though.

Very windy up here.  And cold too.

Very windy up here. And cold too.

I started this adventure pretty late in the day, so I didn’t stay long on the viewing platform. I headed back into the woods to complete the loop. Pretty soon the path headed back into the field, the field I had tromped across last time, coming from the other direction.

I was so close last time and didn't realize it.

I was so close last time and didn’t realize it.

It was a pretty walk, not at all intimidating, mostly because I knew I wasn’t lost. Amazing how a little doubt can override a good time. I’m glad I went back. Now I can say I’ve walked all of it. I think I should come back up here in the fall and walk the same trails again. It would be fun to see how they look in a different season.

Just a walk in the woods.

Just a walk in the woods.

Now wasn’t that a nice walk? I’m glad you came along. It’s always nice to have company.

See you next time!

See you next time!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

6 thoughts on “Back to the walk

  1. I confess: I saw this title in my feed reader, and skipped ahead after reading about your previous Clay Cliffs adventures. I’ll catch up on the in-between soon.
    Your Saturday afternoon was well-spent! That fresh snow sure makes the lake and trails shine 🙂

    Like

  2. We just returned from Up North – our lake is much smaller and was in the process of freezing when we left earlier this afternoon. I took in a walk yesterday, but yours sounds so much more fun. I am glad I got to come along. Have wonderful week – I am looking forward to watching the compete first episode of Downton Abbey tomorrow night.

    Like

  3. Sure looks like a nice walk, though probably a little cold. Nice pics Dawn!

    Like

  4. Thank you for taking us along on your beautiful walk. It is so quiet in the snow. Did you see any birds or have they all come down to visit us in warm Florida?

    Keep on blogging. I love your photos and writing.

    Marilyn

    Like

  5. I’m so glad you allowed me to come with you on this walk. I lived on another of Lake Michigan’s shores many many years ago when I was far too young to appreciate its beauty.

    Like

  6. Snow yet the water looks tropical. Beautiful
    Lily & Edward

    Like

Leave a Reply

