Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Waiting for warm

12 Comments

Snacks will be available in the spring.

Snacks will be available in the spring.

I’m up in northern Michigan, a place that many people visit in warmer seasons; a place that caters to those seasonal tourists.

Fishing boat waits patiently.

Fishing boat waits patiently.

Being here in winter it seems odd to be driving past places I’ve visited myself in warmer months. To notice little things here and there that are waiting for spring just like I am.

Kayaks resting until spring.

Kayaks resting.

I’m sure these northern villages are glad when the tourists come back each spring. But I think many that live here permanently are also glad when the last of the tourists leave and everyone can relax for a little bit.

Not the season for bike riding.

Not the season for bike riding.

I find it beautiful here in any season but I’m enjoying the coziness of remote Michigan in winter. It reminds me a bit of a time years ago when I lived in the Upper Peninsula. I learned then that as long as you find something outside that you enjoy winter won’t be so bad.

Ice cream shop celebrates Christmas.

Ice cream shop celebrates Christmas.

But I’ll be back in summer too — I can play tourist with the best of them. Even though it will be a lot busier I wouldn’t miss seeing this part of the country with a warm sun glinting off the lake, the roads full of happy people, the shops bustling.

It’s Pure Michigan. And I’m lucky to be here.

Celebrating Michigan.

Celebrating Michigan.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Waiting for warm

  1. I think the Norweigans say something like “There’s no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothing.” The Upper Peninsula looks lovely through your camera eye. Happy New Year, Dawn. Stay warm!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent post and photos. Never been to Michigan, and certainly not the Upper Peninsula, but I can see the attraction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should put it on your bucket list Ed. I think you’d like it. You don’t even have to go all the way to the UP. These were taken in northwestern lower peninsula.

      Like

  3. Lovely! A pretty, quiet beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We had such a WARM December that I think lots of folks are hoping for a bit of snow. Not me, though. I rather like the warm, and I especially like not having to melt ice-balls off Sheltie fur! Enjoy the quiet beauty, Dawn, and have a happy New Year’s!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember my parents went to southern coastal maine the weekend after labor day and everything was shut down already. Talk about a short season! They enjoyed the peace and quiet though. That’s one thing I look forward to when I leave teaching – being able to vacation whenever I want (and going to the bathroom whenever I want!), without the crowds.

    Looks like you’re enjoying the peace, quiet and solitude that winter brings. Makes me wistful for a good snow storm!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like to travel after Labor Day, after schools start again. No matter where we go it’s a little more peaceful and quiet and just as beautiful in late September, early October.

      My sister says the same thing about getting to go to the bathroom whenever she wants. Somehow that seems like something the civil liberties people should be able to fix for teachers!

      Like

  6. it is pretty to look at – but we are glad we are not there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

