Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Patterns abound

5 Comments

If you're on FB you've already seen this one; cherry trees, Lake Michigan & sand dunes

If you’re on FB you’ve already seen this one; cherry trees, Lake Michigan & sand dunes

Quick! What’s the first thing you think about when I say northern Michigan? Does it include snow? Woods? Lakes? Well, you’d be right, but the western edge of the northern lower peninsula is also a beautiful patchwork of farms, orchards and vineyards.

Leftover apples

Leftover apples

Every time I’m up here I’m fascinated by the intricate designs and patterns of the orchards and vineyards that dot the hillsides. I’ve always been attracted to repeating patterns, especially in nature. But the orchards in particular have been difficult to capture.

Cherry trees under heavy sky

Cherry trees under heavy sky

When you’re on the same plane as the orchard, and perhaps too close, it’s hard to show the symmetry of the tree trunks, the shadows interlocking, the sheer beauty of the trees marching in step. Trust me I’ve tried.

Cherry trees glow in a bit of sun

Cherry trees glow in a bit of sun

It’s the same with the row upon row of grape vines. The scale is often so huge that I just couldn’t get the image that truly represented what I saw. But failure has never kept me from trying again.

Hillside of hope for next year's vintage

Hillside of hope for next year’s vintage

Today I’m sitting in the warm living room, listening as waves of Lake Michigan pound the shore, watching clouds scuttle in from the west and white caps racing across the lake. Noting the temperatures dropping; there is a prediction of snow. A perfect day, it seems, to sort through the past two days of photos.

Grapes and cherries share a hillside

Grapes and cherries share a hillside

While wading through a number of failures I see there are quite a few orchard and vineyard photos that are worth showing you. So that you can see ‘up north’ isn’t all about snow and woods.

Cherry orchard tucked behind a corn field

Cherry orchard tucked behind a corn field

I drove around aimlessly on Friday, even got lost a few times. But it’s hard to get truly lost on a peninsula. If you go far enough you’re eventually going to run into a large body of water or a small village and you’ll be able to get your bearings. I also had a map.

Young trees next to old

Young trees next to old and a spot of sun

On Saturday I had a specific destination in mind, but saw more along the way, not related to my quest, then I did when I finally arrived. I think I will have to go back and try again.

Brand new orchard in the making

Brand new orchard in the making

Meanwhile, this morning I culled a few photos (OK a lot of photos) to share with you. I hope you enjoyed the tour of Leelanau County’s beautiful fruit producing farms! I feel a lot better about my collection of orchard photos now. But that won’t keep me from looking for the next perfect shot.

Turkeys in the orchard!

Turkeys in the orchard!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

5 thoughts on “Patterns abound

  1. We got almost 2 inches of rain today in Ohio. Wishing we could relocate our families Up North and enjoy the hints of sun and impending snow storm. Hope you don’t lose power or have to deal with dangerous ice driving!

    Like

  2. Very pretty!

    Like

  3. The patterns were very successfully captured in the last two before turkeys. “Young trees…spot of sun” is my favorite. And I recognize many of the settings in this post, too, which is fun.

    Like

  4. Great pattern on “hillside of hope” – my fav of the bunch.

    Like

  5. They almost look like you’ve photoshopped them to be so perfect!
    We’ve been enjoying your photos of your Christmas break. I hope you’ve had a good one!
    Does katie mind all the cat loving that is going on though?
    ~lickies, Ludo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

