Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Looking for photos in all the right places

3 Comments

I hope you all had a great Christmas…or holiday…or Friday… depending on your beliefs. I spent it driving around looking for photographs.

Walking...

Walking…

I had a plan to visit Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore…but a road was closed, probably due to the storm we had on Thursday, so I took a few turns here and there and found plenty of photogenic places on the interior of Leelaneau Peninsula.

The thing about driving around looking for pretty things is that when you see something you have to find someplace safe to park off the road, get your camera, get yourself out of the seat belt, out of the car and over to whatever caught your eye before the light changes.

Sun and moss.

Sun and moss.

Yesterday that was hard because the sun was moody; mostly behind big dark clouds, but occasionally popping out, turning the sky blue and shining on something. A barn. A grove of fruit trees. A birch tree. Moss. Sometimes I got the shot, most of the time I didn’t. I’m disappointed that so many beautiful things are not in the camera, but they will always be in my memory!

Grasses leave their marks in the dunes after Thursdays wind.

Grasses leave their marks in the dunes after Thursdays wind.

After several hours, and on my way back to the house, I remembered I still had a mile to walk, in order to keep my streak of walking one mile every day from Thanksgiving to the New Year alive. Sure I may have walked a mile in bits and spurts while getting in and out of the car. But probably not. If I’ve learned anything while doing this ‘walk or run a mile every day’ challenge it’s that one mile is a lot farther than you’d think.

Memorial bench provides a place for reflection.

Memorial bench provides a place for reflection.

So I stopped at Houdek Dunes Natural Area, a place preserved by the Leelanau Conservancy. It has trails through the woods and the dunes. By then the sun was shining a little more and it lit up some of the largest birch trees I’ve ever seen. I couldn’t even capture the immensity of these trees. You really need to walk through this place yourself.

One of many huge birch trees.

One of many huge birch trees.

I think I got enough nature photos just on this one walk to continue Heather’s challenge of posting one nature photo a day for several more weeks. In fact all the photos on this post are from my walk among the trees and sand yesterday.

I guess I’ll have to show you the other beautiful places I found in another post on another day.

Perpetually walking.

Perpetually walking.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

3 thoughts on “Looking for photos in all the right places

  1. That is a ginormous birch tree!!! They always look small every time I’ve seen them! Thank you for making the deadness of winter look beautiful through your lens. I usually find it so depressing, so thank you.

    Like

  2. That’s a beautiful Winter walk Dawn,, the Sun is just coming up and the moon is just starting to fall to mid low horizon,, the way it looks by 8:00 am this morn , the Moon and Sun will be at the same height as East to west,,, Yes we follows of you know who do watch the skies, especially in this age of Time we’re in,, with Excitement,,,,,,,, I hope you Had a Beautiful Christmas with Katie,,,, Piper says hi too!,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    Like

  3. Isn’t it fun to explore places less familiar?

    Like

Leave a Reply

