Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Take that walk

11 Comments

I won’t lie. It’s easier to go for a walk every day when the temperatures are warm and the sun is shining. It’s hard to get outside when it’s cold and wet — the kind of day when you tuck your fingers up inside your coat sleeves and your chin down under your collar. On those days the world seems to be shades of dreary brown and spring seems a distant dream.

Drippy

Drippy

But if you force yourself out there you might just find a few fun, maybe even colorful, things to keep your mind occupied long enough for your fingers to warm up.

Come along with me on a walk somewhere in the chilly Midwest. At first everything seems sort of grey. Or brown. Damp. But keep your eyes peeled. You never know what you might find.

Dreary

Dreary

For example, park employees have been building a raised walkway. Don’t you wonder where it goes? Are you in a hurry? Because if not we could go check it out.

Wonder where this goes?

Wonder where this goes?

This is a brand new walk, put here just in the past day or so. Turns out someone else has already been walking on it. Isn’t that cute? Little raccoon feet! (Click on this photo to see the footprints more clearly!)

Tiny little feet.

Tiny little feet.

It doesn’t look like the walkway is quite finished. But it’s kind of pretty back here.

Someday we'll explore on the other side.

Someday we’ll explore on the other side.

Back on the damp pathway you have to notice the cool reflections in the puddles.

Woodsy reflections.

Woodsy reflections.

And since it’s not raining anymore you can throw back your hood, untuck your chin and notice the color that is everywhere back in the woods.

Green is everywhere if you look.

Green is everywhere if you look.

And the textures on the trees.

Added texture.

Added texture.

This sign always makes me smile. Keep right.

Which way should I go?

Which way should I go?

But the path clearly heads to the left.

Even in dreary, misty weather this pond is pretty, tucked back into the trees. Wonder what lives there?

Pond tucked back behind the trees.

Pond tucked back behind the trees.

And look at this! At about eye level is the latest remodeling of the local pilated woodpecker.

New bird condo in the making.

New bird condo in the making.

I guess this wasn’t such a dreary walk after all!

So tell us, what will you see when you head out the door today?

A walk starts with one step.

A walk starts with one step.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Take that walk

  1. Ah yes! A great retort to my recent comment! But I’m still a cold weather wimp! 😉

    Like

  2. It seems so strange to see all the brown of winter now when everywhere around here is still so green (we even had to mow the lawn again yesterday) We did actually feel some cold though – it was 42 this morning – bbbbbrrrrrrr. Looks like Christmas day is going to be a sunny 82 degrees for us 🙂

    Like

  3. I will see snow when – if – I venture out my door today. There is new snow falling to cover the old snow, which had been compressed by the rain that fell a couple of days ago.

    Like

  4. Definitely impressed at your ability to get yourself out there on a grey dreary day. We are having one of those here today and right now, I’m huddling inside, but know I will be out in it later today. I take it Miss Katie didn’t join you for this walk? 🙂 (I know we would have seen her beautiful face if she did!)

    Like

  5. I think it’s easier to see the color and textures, and really appreciate them, when you’re out in it every day. You can choose to see ugly and dreary, or you can choose to find interesting and colorful. Guess you know where I land. I also love looking at grey day puddle reflections, and we take lots of interest in visible prints (Petey’s nose doesn’t seem to work nearly as well unless there’s a clear visual 😉 )

    Like

  6. I hate walking outside when it’s cold…or damp, so I resort to the treadmill. Call me a weenie, but at least I’m staying fit, ha! I truly enjoyed your walk though, and I admire your hardiness.

    Like

  7. Would love to know which park has the new walk way. Cool!
    As my friend says ” there is no bad weather if you’re dressed for it”. That got me thru some walks in negative temps the last two winters. Lots of layers – then its all good

    Like

  8. Misty morning up here, but we think of it as the landscape in a Japanese temple garden and find it beautiful. Your walk was lovely. Thank you, Dawn! 🙂

    Like

  9. I love that you’re finding the magic of daily walks, and enjoyed every second of this one. 😀

    Like

  10. Great pictures. I love the way you are showing the pictures along the way. That dreary picture is very dreary lol. I hope that they make that raised walkway wider than that. Having a place to walk outdoors and see what is all around you keeps many of us from feeling cooped up in the wintertime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

