Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Birthday girl recaps

8 Comments

Katie here! HEY! I know you all wonder how I spent my glorious birthday yesterday. It’s not every day a princess turns nine, right? Right!? So there should be celebrations! Parties! Extravagant gifts! Crowds of cheering fans! Piles of yummy treats!

See our library way over there behind the pond?

See our library way over there behind the pond?

Or at least an adventure.

I can always count on my mama to take me on an adventure and I was not disappointed. (The gifts and treats and parties were a bit lacking though I did appreciate all your adoring fan comments on mama’s blog yesterday!)

I'm the copilot!

I’m the copilot!

So anyway, Mama broke the car early in the morning and it had to go to the shop for repairs. That was OK because we got to do my adventuring in daddy’s truck! I used to be scared of the big truck but now I like it cause I get to see out the front window. And I get to smell the breeze coming in the vent. When I ride in the truck I have to wear my harness and get connected to the seat belt. But that’s OK, it’s worth it to be close to mama.

Our first adventure wasn’t much of an adventure. We just went to my park. But this time mama said I could choose where I wanted to go and I took mama on a different path and we ended up over at the library! I took her all the way around it and then back to the car. She said we hadn’t quite walked a whole mile; she’s doing some sort of silly challenge where she has to walk a mile every day, so we also walked all the way around a softball field. And over to the playground.

I'm the birthday girl!

I’m the birthday girl!

I figured that was all I was going to get but nooooo! Mama asked me where we should go next! Cause it was my BIRTHDAY! Happy happy day! I said….’remember that park we went to a couple of years ago in the winter mama? With the little creek?”

Just a muddy little creek this time of year mama!

Just a muddy little creek this time of year mama!

She said OK,let’s go there baby-girl! So we did! All these pictures, except the first one, are from the second park — it’s actually a nature trail and I think they do cross country skiing there in the winter when there’s snow.

Come ON mama!

Come ON mama!

When we got there we noticed a big storm knocked down a tree on the bridge across the creek. That didn’t bother me, we just walked around it. Mama was a bit worried about the safety of the bridge but it was just fine. She’s a worrier, my mama.

This is actually a cute bridge.

This is actually a cute bridge.

Then we got to a wooden bridge over a low wet spot. I ran right up it and across. I told mama it reminded me of my agility days, it was just another dogwalk to me! She said it was slippery and I should be careful but I told her not to be such a scardy pants. Geeze.

It's just a dogwalk mama!

It’s just a dogwalk mama!

I was very happy at this new park. There was so much good stuff to sniff! Nobody was out there but you could tell lots of people and dogs had been there earlier. Even though it was getting colder and mama was starting to tell me to ‘leave it let’s go!” I stopped to sniff a lot.

Good smells here mama!

Good smells here mama!

After all…it was my birthday.

We even got to run down this big hill! I thought that was a lot of fun and wanted to go back up and do it again but mama said no way was she climbing back up there. Mama is a wimp.

Hi there mama!

Hi there mama!

We walked another whole mile in the new park and I had a blast. I even sat on this stupid bench for mama to take a picture. She forgot the treats in the truck and I didn’t get anything the whole time we were in this park even though I posed about a hundred million times for her.

She said she’d make it up to me later.

I didn't protest, sitting on this bench gave me a chance to rest!

I didn’t protest, sitting on this bench gave me a chance to rest!

I’m still waiting.

But I’ll forgive her because we had such a lovely time together. Those worker men were at my house again yesterday, and they were still there when we got back from our adventures. But I didn’t bark at them or anything even though they were noisy. I just went inside and took a birthday nap. For a really long time. It’s important to get my rest you know.

Cause they’re going to be back today, and I expect my mama and I will be heading out in daddy’s truck for another adventure any moment.

I have the best parents ever!

Where are we going next mama?

Where are we going next mama?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

8 thoughts on “Birthday girl recaps

  1. Bet there were lots of good smells on your new path. Looks like a happy day
    Lily & Edward

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re right Katie, you have the best parents ever!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If those workers come for long enough, you might get your mama trained to take you on adventures every day, Katie, even after they’re gone!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Katie, it sounds like you had a fabulous birthday! I love the picture of you in your daddy’s truck — you have such an adorable Sheltie expression there!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. that was a wonderful birthday adventure but you really deserved a party and pressies – better tell Mom she has to do it for your 10th 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Excellent Birthday Adventures!

    Like

  7. Adventures and well spent days are the gifts of life.

    Like

  8. Lucky Katie! Great birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

