Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The best, fun, most extraordinary day

15 Comments

This is all for me!

This is all for me!


Katie here. I know, I know. You just heard from me at Thanksgiving, right? But I have to tell you about the wonderful day I had with my mama yesterday! And heck, she’s still sleeping, so I figure I get to blog as much as I want. She’ll never know.

So anyway, mama said some guys were coming to work on the house and it was going to be noisy and she figured I would just make it nosier and stress everyone out so she told my daddy that she was taking me to the park.

All day!

Of course my daddy was up early and whenever that happens I usually end up at the groomer or the kennel or the vet, so I was very nervous and tried to skulk away to hide in the bedroom where no one would think to look for me. But mama told me not to worry and put me in my car.

Going for a walk.

Going for a walk.

Well I was still worried so I remained very still and very quiet as she drove all over running errands. We did stop at my park but it was just for a moment and only to let me do my business because mama knows I always do all my business there right away. Then she put me back in the car without walking all the way around!

I was upset!

And I was right! We went to the groomer! How could you mama?! OK, it was just to get my nails clipped and I got to sit on mama’s lap and I got a treat, and my favorite girl was there to do it, so it wasn’t all that bad, but I told my mama off when we got back in the car anyway.

I love this time of year!

I love this time of year!

So to make it up to me mama took me to a park I’ve never been to before that is over on the groomer’s side of town. No one was there! We got to walk through the woods and play in the deep oak leaves.

Get the ball mama!

Get the ball mama!

And there was a fenced in space where some other doggie left three tennis balls. I got so excited when I saw those! Mama threw them for me and I ran and ran and ran and spun around in excitement. I never actually touched the tennis balls (they might have boy cooties) but I’d race out to where the ball landed and then spin in circles. It was so much fun, especially since that made my mama have to go get the ball to throw it for me again.

Run mama, run!

Run mama, run!

And do you know what we did next? We went back to my park! I couldn’t believe it when we got there and mama got me out of the car! A second park in the same day! Boy oh boy! I was sooooo happy I grinned almost the whole way around the park.

But about three quarters of the way around I sat down and smiled at my mama. It was time for a rest. So we did! Mama didn’t tell me to ‘lets go’ or anything. She said it was a big day and it was OK for me to rest. But then I saw a chipmunk and we were off again! I can always count on chipmunks to revive me!

Got any treats mama?

Got any treats mama?

When we finally got home late in the afternoon guess what? There weren’t any men working on my house and daddy said they are coming today instead.

Mama was not happy.

She says she doesn’t know how she can top yesterday and keep me busy all day again. I told her I was up for anything, especially if it involves walks and rides and parks and treats.

I could just run all day!

I could just run all day!

Yesterday was my favorite kind of day. Whatcha going to do with me today mama?

I'll pose once mama.

I’ll pose once mama.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “The best, fun, most extraordinary day

  1. just do the groundhog day thing and repeat everything again – except for the toe nail clipping 🙂

    Like

  2. Katie, did you call the men and tell them to come a day late? That’s good thinking! 😉

    Like

  3. Katie, you are indeed a Princess! Why, even the workmen knew you needed TWO FULL DAYS of mama-time! How fun for both of you! Dallas loves to chase a ball — he’d like to impress you by telling you he can catch it in the air when it’s tossed to him, too. Yes he can!

    Like

  4. I don’t know, Katie – two days in a row might make you so tired. A princess mustn’t overdo it you know.

    Like

    • Well the good news on that front is they didn’t show up today. Now it’s tomorrow (Friday). This has been going on for several months, intensely for the last 10 days. We’ll be there at 9:30 tomorrow. No one shows. No calls. I’m so over it.

      Like

  5. Awesome day Katie! I hope you let your mama sleep in a bit today after all that excitement.

    Like

  6. It is AMAZING how grooming can make our dogs look EVEN MORE BEAUTIFUL THAN THEY ALREADY ARE, isn’t it?!

    Like

  7. Looks like Katie had a great day – except for the nail clipping part. I love the photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

