Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Walking in a winter wonderland

18 Comments

Extraordinary morning.

Extraordinary morning.

You think it’s easy to go for a walk every day? Sure. What’s a little daily walk to a retired person? Well that’s what I said too, and why I agreed to join my fellow Michigan Connectors in a challenge to walk (or run, but really? RUN?) at least one mile every day between Thanksgiving and New Years Day.

I like to walk. I enjoy almost all of almost every walk I’ve ever been on. But it’s still hard. I wake up every day and think “Where am I going to walk today?” And I’ve figured out I need to get the walk done early in the day, before the rest of the world interferes and the day gets away from me.

A frosty walk.

A frosty walk.

My favorite walks are those when I have enough time to drive to one of our parks and walk through the woods. In fact I had a lovely almost two mile walk early in the morning just a few days ago. The images in this post are from that magical morning in a county park not far from where I live.

Blue skies above the marsh.

Blue skies above the marsh.

There’s lots to do at this park. A small playground complete with climbing wall for little kids. An eight mile bike path that winds through wetlands and deep woods. A water pad for summers. Even a chain link maze.

Holiday colors.

Holiday colors.

For the winter there’s a sledding hill and a toboggan run. And tucked way in the back is a nature area with a path through tall trees and marshland.

Hill waiting for snow.

Hill waiting for snow.

I saw no cars anywhere in the park when I arrived – I had the whole place to myself. The sun was glinting off frost tinged grass, brush and leaves.

It was magical.

From days past.

From days past.

Half way along the nature trail another trail branched off. It is called the ‘farm trail’ and at the base of it were a couple of antique farming implements. That morning the frost had touched the rusted metal and the result was beautiful. I spent a long time taking shots of bits and parts of frosty rust, totally ruining my split times.

As if time was important to a retired person.

Frosty.

Frosty.

A lesson to this retired person. No matter what the weather if you get outside and walk a mile you’re going to find something, maybe a lot of things, worth the walk. With or without the camera.

Puddle art.

Puddle art.

I know I’m lucky to have the time to take these walks. And I’m lucky to belong to a group of women who hold health and fitness high on their lists of important things. They challenge me to stick with it, even when I don’t want to.

Which is why I’m having a blast walking in a winter wonderland.

On top of the world.

On top of the world.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on “Walking in a winter wonderland

  1. You live among several great parks and have a doggie who is always walk-ready and you’re retired. Sounds like all the ingredients for wonderful daily walks. Walking is one of my greatest blessings.

    Like

  2. I accept your challenge. Lately I’ve been overwhelmed with family issues – my mother-in-law passed away recently and her passing has had a profound impact on our family in ways that we were not prepared for – spilling over and impacting all of us – my wife and our two kids – 17 years old and 13 years old, and maybe even the dog a 5 3/4 Brittany Spaniel. I ‘ve seen your posts and not read – time is the issue. Glad I clicked. Thank you!

    Like

    • Clay, I’m so sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. You must all miss her very much. Every loss of family impacts the family. A walk, together or alone, may help during this rough time. Even a little time outside helps me on my sad days.

      i usually post my walks on facebook, don’t know if you are there. Or you can email me if you like and let me know how you’re doing with your walks. dawnkinster@gmail.com

      Hugs to you and your family.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Sounds wonderful!

    El Nina seems to be holding winter off here for now. Although, it was frosty out this morning, and then the thick fog rolled in. Made for a very mystical walk.

    Like

  4. Brrrrrrr how quickly perceptions change – I look at all that brown and cold and shudder and am thankful everything is still green around here and the temps are still in the 60’s (mind you – I am finding 60 cold now – that would of been considered a heat wave in winter in Arkansas 🙂

    Like

  5. Dawn, I think you’ve found the key to successfully putting a daily walk on your To-Do List, doing it first thing in the morning. That way, I’ve found, the busyness of the day doesn’t interfere, and I come away refreshed and ready to tackle things! Sometimes, of course, I take Dallas with me, but those walks tend to be slower with lots of time built in for smelling, greeting others, and dawdling!!

    Like

  6. I love going for walks…but I still work so I mostly walk on weekends. I have lots of trails to explore around me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love your walks. You find a lot of beauty while you’re out and about. As for it being easy to walk every day, try it for a whole year. After I did that, I got hooked and can’t go a day without a walk outside.

    Loved this: “No matter what the weather if you get outside and walk a mile you’re going to find something, maybe a lot of things, worth the walk. With or without the camera.”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Isn’t funny how when you make yourself get out, you’re always glad you did? You know I’m a night owl, but I am always happy when I get up for a sunrise. Your park does look magical.

    Like

  9. You always take great pictures, Dawn, thank you so much for sharing these. I know what you mean about split times, though, lol. I used to run all the time with a garmin watch and realized it was totally stressing me out. So I stopped it.

    I think it’s a great thing to get out there and walk every day. Have you been taking Katie on these walks too?

    Like

    • Katie slows me down too much. So her walks are separate, and don’t count in my ‘must walk 1 mile every day’ challenge. But I do like being out there every day. It helps my mood. Except that one time when it was windy and cold and raining. Then I wasn’t so happy being out there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

