Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Katie says she’s thankful

7 Comments

Listen up!

Listen up!

Katie here.

I know I usually steal mama’s blog when I have a complaint to voice. And don’t get me wrong, there are numerous things to complain about, mostly revolving around the limited access I have to treats. I’m working on that, but it’s slow going.

My mama told me today is Thanksgiving here in the United States. That’s a time when families and friends get together, eat a lot of food, and remind themselves how truly lucky they are. Well. If there’s a lot of food involved I’m in.

Oh.

Mama says it’s not about the food. She says that I have to tell you all what I’m thankful for. Well let me see…

First of all I’m thankful that I have my mama and my daddy to take care of me. I don’t admit it very often but they spoil me just a little bit. I have pillows all over the house just in case I want to take a nap. I need a pile of pillows, don’t you know, because I’m a princess. And a princess always needs to be comfortable. I also get to sleep on the bed, and if I choose the best spot they will usually move over for me. And they make sure I have lots of toys to play with, and they never (hardly ever) forget to feed me right on schedule; if they’re a little slow I remind them and they hop right on it. Yep, my mama and my daddy are the best things that ever happened to me. But don’t tell them, I don’t want them to get too big headed.

My aunt got me this frog when I was a baby!

My aunt got me this frog when I was a baby!

I’m also thankful for all the adventures my mama takes me on. We get to go to my park pretty often, and my mama takes me to other bigger parks too. There’s always a lot to sniff and I love to go go GO! Sometimes, when it’s nice out, we even go to the park and stay there all night! Mama says that’s called camping and I just love it! I get to sleep outside (well, in a tent) and smell the lovely sniffings all day long! I love being outside so camping is just perfect for me! Mama says she likes to do that too so it all works out.

Camping is a blast!

Camping is a blast!

And of course I’m thankful for all of you! I like hearing about all your adventures. It’s a small world and it’s good to know so many doggie families. I’m especially thankful to be Reilly the CowSpotdog’s girlfriend. I hope I get to actually meet him and his family soon — we’ve been long distance friends for a really long time. He lives in a pawsome place now and I can’t wait to visit!

My boyfriend Reilly.

My boyfriend Reilly.

On a sad note we had very bad news last night when we heard that our FB sheltie friend Agnes Ann was killed by a car. Mama couldn’t stop crying, though I tried to make her feel better. She and I went outside and looked at the big full moon and she hugged me really tight and I let her cause I knew that’s what she needed to do. She cried into my fur for a long time and I was just quiet, didn’t even ask to get down. After awhile she wiped her eyes and rubbed the sheltie fur off of her face and we came back inside. I’m thankful that I can give mama that comfort when she needs it. She says I should tell you all to hug your people today too.

This Thanksgiving will be quiet here and I’m happy to be spending it with my folks. I am thankful that they aren’t going south this year, they’re going to spend this holiday with me! I hope they share some of that food I’ve heard so much about, but I doubt it. Mama has this silly rule about people food. I don’t get any unless it happens to jump off the counter on it’s own accord. Which is why whenever mama is in the kitchen I’m in the kitchen. Shelties are smart you know.

Thankful that I'm beautiful.

Thankful that I’m beautiful.

I hope you all have a wonderful, calm, peaceful and happy Thanksgiving with your peoples. I’m thankful for each of you that reads my mama’s blog. It makes her feel good to know you’re all out there.

And if you think of it, send some healing thoughts to Agnes Ann’s mom Kathy.

I'm thankful for all of YOU!

I’m thankful for all of YOU!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Katie says she’s thankful

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Katie, and your momma. I’m so sorry she was so sad last night but it’s great you are there to help her get through times like that. And with all the food being prepped today, I’m thinking the chance of some food falling off the counter is pretty *high*. 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family Katie!

    Tell your mom that if she gives you some turkey, it might make you VERY sleepy…….turkey coma works for dogs too 🙂

    Like

  3. Sweet girl. Mama is a lucky mama

    Like

  4. Katie, while you’re helping your mom in the kitchen today, be sure to give her extra love. Princess love is very special.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Deaths seem that much sadder when they occur during the holidays. So sorry to read of this one. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you! Dallas says hanging around the kitchen is a GOOD thing — people have a way of responding to begging Sheltie eyes!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Thanksgiving
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  7. We are so terribly sorry about your Sheltie friend. Our hearts are just breaking. We are so sorry. Sending (((hugs))) DakotasDen

    Like

Leave a Reply

