Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: Trio

16 Comments

We got the first snow of the season yesterday. It came on the heels of record breaking heat and a wonderful extended fall. Yesterday it snowed steadily all day; the skies grey, the snow coming down relentlessly for hours. This morning I measured 12 inches (30.48 centimeters) of wet heavy snow covering everything, but the skies are brilliant blue and our world is stunning.

I had planned on driving out into the country to find something of three to photograph for the challenge this week. Something that would represent trio. But while I was shoveling the driveway I happened to glance up, and saw, against the bright blue sky, three roof lines all outlined in snow.

I couldn’t resist.

Three roofs, two triangles.

Three roofs, two triangles.

And once I saw the image on a screen I recognized another couple of trios in the shapes of triangles.

It wasn’t the shot I thought I was going to get. But something about the symmetry, the clean lines, the simple fact of three, something about all that makes me smile.

I hope you smile too.

You can see other representations of ‘trio’ at the original WordPress post, or catch a couple of my favorites here, here and here.

Look around. Where are the trios in your life? Care to share? Post your photos on your blog, and link back to the WordPress challenge. I look forward to seeing what you find!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: Trio

  1. Terrific take on the challenge. And such crisp photos!

    Like

  2. There’s nothing like that beautiful blue sky that arrives after a snow storm. I’m glad that made it in your shot too!

    Like

  3. Twelve inches?? Yikes, that’s a LOT!! It snowed here most of the day, but, because the ground is still on the warm side, it didn’t stick around. The frigid temps, though, are pretty brutal — glad I don’t have to work outdoors!!

    Like

  4. It’s going to be a weird winter, isn’t it? Nice shot! And I love your header picture.

    Like

  5. It did. Make me smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love your take on the theme this week. I also love seeing some snow — given I live in Australia and snow is not seen in most of the country.

    Like

  7. I love this take on the challenge – maybe because I really like snow and look forward to the first snowfall. Still, I love this elegant composition.

    Like

    • I like the first snowfall too, particularly because it came on a Saturday and most people didn’t have to drive in it. I certainly stayed in. What I liked about this image was the simplicity. I was snow blowing the driveway and glanced up and there it was. Had to go get the camera in the middle of the snow removal job. Since then I’ve seen other ‘trio’ shots, but I still like this one. I appreciate your comments, I have great respect for your work.

      Liked by 2 people

  8. A wonderful shot – I love the bright blue sky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

