Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Katie’s pretty good weekend

13 Comments

Katie here!

Wasn’t it a beautiful weekend? We had sunshine and I got to be outside in my pen a bunch! I love sitting out guarding my backyard against those pesky squirrels. OK, sometimes I fall asleep for a few brief moments, but trust me, if anything tries to cross my backyard I’m alert instantly!

Not napping.  Just resting my eyes.

Not napping. Just resting my eyes.

And you know what else? On Saturday my mama took me to my park! It was so much fun! It was only 44 degrees out (6.66 C) and I was a completely different dog than the last time we went! No laying down in the shade for me! Oh no. I trotted around that park at high speed, stopping to sniff on occasion, but mostly trotting along happy to keep my mama sprinting. (Revenge is sweet, right?) She kept making me stop so she could take pictures of stuff. Stuff that was not me! Who would do that? I mean I am the most photogenic thing around, right?

Afternoon reflections.

Afternoon reflections.

Well OK, I concede that the park was pretty that day even though the sun was mostly under clouds. No one else was out there and mama let me walk along without her some of the time while she took pictures. I figured we’d make record time on the almost one mile around the park, which was good because the sun was starting to go down and we didn’t want to be there after dark.

The light is going.

The light is going.

So I’m hurrying her along and we’re almost back at the car when suddenly the sun comes out! And you know what my mama did? She started taking pictures of me! Cause she said that the low late afternoon sun made my fur really pretty. What do you think?

Yes I know.  I'm beautiful.

Yes I know. I’m beautiful.

I think she was right. I sat and stood for her just like a good model for awhile, and then I reminded her that I hadn’t had my supper yet, and a super model demands to be paid. My preference for payment is in treats, but since she didn’t bring any I figured it was within my rights to demand we go home and get supper. I’m sure you agree.

I'm hungry mama!

I’m hungry mama!

So we head toward the car and guess what? There were four deer coming into my park!

They're infringing on my park!

They’re infringing on my park!

Well! I knew I had to defend my mama and my park so I barked and barked and barked and barked and they wandered off into the meadow toward my pond. I took care of them! They were too afraid to come toward us. Now I knew I deserved my dinner!

I took care of them mama!

I took care of them mama!

So off we went back to my house. When we got there I noticed that there was a great sunset that we would have seen if we had stayed at the park. Oh well. That’s the price you have to pay when you’re working with a super model. Am I right?

Pretty.

Missed it!.


It was a perfect weekend. I know I complain about my folks a lot, but this weekend they really came through and let me do a lot of fun stuff. I’m definitely going to need to take a nap now, in order to rest up for tomorrow. I hear it’s going to be another pretty day.

I think another park is in my future.

I can't wait!

I can’t wait!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Katie’s pretty good weekend

  1. Yes, Katie, she was right about the low late afternoon sunlight. The light really showcases your beauty. So glad you got to spend time in your park, and that you were able to take care of the deer. I hope you were given a special dinner for all your hard work. 🙂

    And tell your mama that I love those reflections.

    Like

  2. Your mama has to take pictures of things besides you, Katie, just to compare your beauty with that of Mother Nature’s creations. It’s really a compliment to you, you know. I must agree, however, that nothing is quite as beautiful as you in the golden light of evening.

    Like

  3. You ARE beautiful! But so are the deer. 🙂

    Like

  4. Aw, Katie, you’re simply splendid! But so, you know, is the reflection on the lake. And the deer. And the sunset. What a super weekend you two had!!

    Like

  5. What a beautiful adventure. We love taking hikes on trails and to parks with lakes. There are so many funky new smells
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  6. Great pictures of the park and Katie. That is too cold for me to be out and about lol. We’re still in the high 70s here.

    Like

  7. Oooh my goodness, your Northern deer are huge. Makes our wittle Alabama deer look like overgrown rabbits!

    Like

    • And those were just a couple of does. You should see the bucks. I agree, I thought the AL deer were scrawny when I first saw them. Still, they’ll do a number on your car for sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

