Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Not trucks

14 Comments

It's a grey day mama.

It’s a grey day mama.

I want to write about something that doesn’t have anything to do with trucks. I feel like I’ve been immersed in truck issues for such a long time that there’s no way out. And in reality that’s true, there is no way out, I know I’m in that fight for the long haul. But sometimes I need to think about, do something, different. To let that truck stuff go for a little bit.

Trouble is today, when I came up for air, the weather outside was frightful. We’ve had a wind advisory all day with gusts up to 50 miles per hour. And rain. Plus it’s cold, and I don’t really like being cold. So Katie-girl and I have spent an entire day inside thinking about things we could be doing but not doing many of them.

It’s not as though I don’t have a long list of things I should do. Starting with cleaning. And organizing. And cooking. Not to mention practicing; the next community band concert is December 1, only a few very short weeks away. But I have only managed to nap today.

We weren’t raised in my family to be nappers so I’m struggling with the thought that I could spend an entire day in a chair watching the rain hit the windows, the light, what little of it there is, move across the yard, checking Facebook and email, reading blog entries. Falling asleep reading a book.

Morning light before the storm.

Morning light before the storm.

I want to write about something that doesn’t have anything to do with trucks. Something colorful and vibrant. Happy. But I seem to be in some sort of grey funk that matches the weather. Even Katie-girl seems to understand and gives up asking me to play after a little while. She’s asleep at my feet at the moment.

Tomorrow. Well tomorrow I will get myself up and go for a walk. After that perhaps I’ll write something that doesn’t have anything to do with trucks.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Not trucks

  1. We weren’t raised in my family to be mappers either, but I am now accepting the fact that I can spend days doing exactly what you described. Just enjoy it!

    Like

  2. It sounds like a perfectly, wonderful day…Well earned, I’d say!

    Like

  3. I’ll bet anything Katie was not thinking about cooking and cleaning and organizing. 🙂

    Like

  4. Sometimes a day of rest — for both body and mind — is a good thing. We all need to recover when things get hectic, and our dogs do this better than most!

    Like

  5. Naps are good for your health, and for your soul. It took me a long time to realize both because I wasn’t raised to be a napper, either. Stormy, windy, cold days are perfect for napping and doing mostly nothing. I’m glad you had a chance to do that. 🙂

    Like

  6. That kind of weather is pawsome for napping.

    Dog Speed

    Sherman & Gemini

    Like

  7. Even though I’ve learned to slow down my life somewhat (and am forced to in such a small town, too), I get how hard it is to do nothing sometimes. And if you’re not in a good place emotionally, it’s even harder. I’m sorry you were in such a grey place (literally and figuratively), and hope that with the thanksgiving holiday (the day on which I’m writing this), things are feeling better for you than the day on which you wrote this post. Happy Thanksgiving, Dawn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

