Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Three day quote challenge. Day 3

10 Comments

Imported Photos 00024Carol challenged me to post a quote for three days, and each day nominate someone else to carry the challenge forward. As you know if you’ve read the last two days I opted out of nominating someone. But it’s kind of fun looking for a quote to post about, so all of you readers out there should consider chiming in!

This is day 3, the last day for me…last quote for awhile. I enjoyed doing this, and it was a short enough challenge that I could deal with being organized enough to complete it. So here you go, quote #3:

“We must accept finite disappointment, but we must never lose infinite hope.” – Martin Luther King

As you know I volunteer for The Truck Safety Coalition. We’ve been fighting a very tough fight; we’ve had plenty of disappointment and I’m sure we’ll face more going forward. But we never give up hope, we never give up the fight. And we never will.

Because people’s lives depend on us making a noise big enough to be heard.

Miss you Dad

Miss you Dad

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Three day quote challenge. Day 3

  1. A perfect quote for your coalition, especially since you are trying to reason with a group in which so many are self-serving fools. A perfect quote for everyone – life offers a smorgasbord of disappointments, offset by a dessert section of joys.

    Like

    • That’s a good way to think of it….Congress is voting on amendments again today…specifically teen drivers, minimum insurance, special exemptions for certain industries and states. I’m hoping for at least some dessert.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a neat idea for a challenge! And it seems as if you’ve tackled it well, too. You’ve chosen an apt quote for your coalition — and for life in general!

    Like

  3. Another great quote 🙂

    Like

  4. Here’s one I found, from Jimmy Carter’s presidential farewell address: “America did not invent human rights. In a very real sense, it is the other way round. Human rights invented America.” He is my hero.

    Like

  5. Great quote! I don’t think I’ve heard that one.

    On my way to work this week, NPR was interviewing people about the new laws in the trucking industry (they were talking about the electronic log recording devices). I was happy to see it getting some airtime, even though they seemed to be focusing on how it would negatively effect the drivers (high cost, etc), instead of how it would help improve safety. Hopefully they shared the other side of the story after I arrived at work.

    Like

    • On the high end the cost might be $2K per truck. On the low end it could be as little as an application on a smart phone. Cost is not really a consideration. In fact most large truck companies already have these in their trucks. It’s the small companies that are protesting the mandate to use electronic logs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

