Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Three Day Quote Challenge

12 Comments

Rules mama?  There are rules?

Rules mama? There are rules?

Carol challenged me to post quotes on three days. As usual in these types of challenges I’m supposed to nominate 3 people to carry the challenge forward. That’s the hardest part for me.

Finding a quote is actually quite interesting. I’ve always admired those whose blog starts each time with a relevant quote. I’ve wondered where they find such appropriate quotes. Now I need to find a few myself.

What type of quote should I look for? Inspirational? Humorous? Pointed? I guess we’ll see how this all falls out.

So here is the Day 1 quote:

“If you obey all the rules, you miss all the fun.” – Katharine Hepburn

I’ve always liked Katharine Hepburn, and now I know why. She’s right. I spent a good part of my life following all the rules. Mostly that was fine. But these days, lucky in retirement, I have begun to realize that not all rules are meant to be followed.

So the first rule I’m breaking is the nominating part of this challenge. If you, like me, would like to explore sources of inspirational, humorous, or pointed quotes…then share a few with us in the next few days.

I look forward to them all!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Three Day Quote Challenge

  1. Oh, I love quotes! That’s a great one. But don’t tell my ninth period class!

    Brainy quotes.com is such a great site to lose an afternoon or two 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. She was one of my favorite actresses too – I always liked a similar quote – rules should never be broken – but bending them is okay 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah ha! You used the out that I usually invoke when it comes to nominating people. I like your quote choice – as a rather avid rule-follower, I’ve been thinking I should throw caution to the winds more often.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think we grew up in a generation that pretty much did what we were told. That’s the way I was raised anyway. Now that we’re all grown up…and retired….I think we should throw caution to the wind. At least once in awhile.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “Strength doesn’t come from what you can do. It comes from overcoming the things you once thought you couldn’t. ” – Rikki Rogers (from google images qoutes search 10-8-15)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “This is the place and this is the time
    To clear the heart and open the mind.

    When you’re weary with the world
    And the storms in which you’re whirled
    You can reach out, feel the love, the joy
    Feel the breeze and smell the grass
    Hear the birds sing as they pass
    Thru the branches of the trees, the joy

    The world gives us love we can share
    Replacing the woe and the care with joy.”
    (Mokey Fraggle). Jim Hensen

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have so many favorite quotes but for today my favorite is,
    “Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” Mary Oliver

    Like

Leave a Reply

