Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

I’m impatient

14 Comments

Katie here.

Psst!  Listen up!

Psst! Listen up!


You know, I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again. My parents need to stay home and pay attention to me. Sometimes I don’t even know why I put up with them, other than they give me supper. Which I guess is a pretty good reason to stick around. But frankly I think I deserve a lot more attention, and since they’ve been home from Washington DC I’ve been making my point.

Loudly. And often.

They are busy all the time and I just want to play. Mama and Dad keep asking each other if they brought the wrong sheltie home from camp, cause I’m a lot more vocal than I used to be. Well. That’s because they are ignoring me! What’s a princess to do?

Good catch!

Good catch!

So I tell them off regularly, and then when they tell me to go lie down I bring them a toy. Yesterday my dad threw my pink elephant for me a lot until I put it over on the other side of the room. I get to decide when it’s time to stop playing, not them. Right? You all have the same kind of rules don’t you?

Got it!

Got it!

I even got my mama to get out my tunnel yesterday and I sort of played “PIGGY IN THE TUNNEL!” with her. But not really. I’d either bring her the piggy but run outside the tunnel, or run through it and not bring the piggy out. She tried to play the game with my cow, and my lambie, my elfie, my pinkie, and my squirrel, but she should know you can’t play “PIGGY IN THE TUNNEL!” with anything except a piggy! Geeze mama!

Sometimes you embarrass me.

Anyway, my mama says that I am at least sleeping until a little later in the morning some of the time. She is not sure how that ‘fall back’ thing with the clock is going to work out this weekend though. She’s pretty sure shelties do not ‘fall back.’

Get it!

Get it!


I think I have almost gotten my folks back into sheltie-shape now. They’ve been home a week and they are talking about maybe taking me to the park if the wind dies down and the sun comes out. My mama is a wimp. She says she already doesn’t like winter. Yesterday it was only 42F (5.55C) and very windy so we came back inside very fast whenever I made them take me out.

Which I did regularly because I was bored.

Mine!

Mine!

A sheltie-girl has to do what she has to do….right? If they caught on faster that I need a lot of attention I wouldn’t have to parade them out in the cold so often. I think it’s pretty obvious, but I guess they are a little slow. Meanwhile, now that I’ve got them up and about I probably need to go catch a nap so that I’m ready for them when they think they’re going to sit down and read.

After all, I’m an anti-reading dog, and I’m always on duty.

Happy girl.

Happy girl.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “I’m impatient

  1. Oh my, Katie. You have to realize that Moms and Dads just don’t have the energy that you furry girls have, and you need to give us all a break sometimes. I’m worried about this fall back thing too, because Shasta and Bailey have just started letting me sleep till 7:00 and sometimes a little after. I don’t like getting up in the dark dark. Could you girls be kind, please?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the Peeps just don’t get it do they – Sheltie Rule No 1 – we are the MOST important thing in their lives and they should treat us as such – when we want to play – they have to play – when we want out – they have to take us out – when we want to go to the park – they have to take us to the park and when we want to eat – they must feed us – seems quite straight forward to us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We agree about it being to cold and windy already. We are suppose to have some lovely nice days of Fall. I want more Fall so I can go walkies. Got to get the weather to listen also.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

    Like

  4. Oh Katie. You really need to whip your humans into shape.

    Hope you get to go to the park today!

    Like

  5. Katie — tell your mom and dad you want to go on a road trip. Thay way they can pay attention to you ALL the time.

    Like

  6. I’ve missed reading about your antics, Princess. You and Dallas are lots alike. He has an “off button,” and he often lets me get a bit of work done — but AFTER we’ve played or taken a long walkie outside. First things first, you know!

    Like

  7. Pawsome stuffie toy! We have those same playing rules. We play til we say stop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

