Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Walktober

33 Comments

Sunday afternoon stroll.

Sunday afternoon stroll.


Robin over at breezes at dawn challenges us each October to take a walk and then share it with all of you. Here it is October 25 and I haven’t shared a walk with anyone yet. It’s not that I haven’t been walking; certainly we walked a gazillion miles on our Canadian trip and another gazillion in DC last week. I just didn’t do all that with Walktober in mind.

So this morning I headed out into the October sunlight and visited one of my favorite places – the place where I always find something beautiful to photograph – Kensington Metro Park. My plan was to head out on the nature trails and see what I could see, but I was sucked into the incredible beauty along the bike path that circles the main lake so I stopped and walked there for awhile.

Right next to the parking lot was a family of sandhill cranes. Mama and Papa are on the left, this year’s child is on the right. They seemed unaffected by all the people snapping their photo. I think they will be on their way south very soon.

Family of three.

Family of three.

I love fall colors reflected in water and I wasn’t disappointed today. This shot was actually the reason I pulled over and parked earlier than I had planned. It’s a little bay area, with picnic tables under big oak trees.

I've had a picnic lunch out on this little spit of land in warmer days.

I’ve had a picnic lunch out on this little spit of land in warmer days.

I used to run on the bike path every weekend, around the beautiful lake. As I walked today I was remembering other times, running with friends, running alone, things I’ve seen on these hills and curves from many years of visiting this beautiful park.

Willow and water.

Willow and water.

Along the path I came across some bittersweet. I know it’s invasive, but it’s something my mom used to like to decorate with in fall and I don’t see it very often these days. As the weather cools the orange berries split and fold back, showing a yellowish center. Mom used to dry it and tuck it along the fireplace mantle. I always think of her when I find a bit of it on my wanderings.

Orange berry memories.

Orange berry memories.

I headed over to the nature trails to see what I might find. The sun was warm on my face and I was enjoyed being in the woods listening to the birds, watching chickadees and nuthatches flit about.

Nuthatch stops for a fleeting moment to say hi.

Nuthatch stops for a fleeting moment to say hi.

There were lots and lots of chipmunks running around in the dry leaves. They always sound so much bigger scrambling around under those leaves than they really are. I stopped and watched three of them chase each other around.

If I stay still you can't see me.  Right?

If I stay still you can’t see me. Right?

The nature trail led through the woods and then opened up into a pretty little meadow with a couple of surprise maple trees still in full color.

A surprise punch of color.

A surprise punch of color.

I’m always happy when I see a bit of color that stands out.

Most of the maples are done, and now it's the oak trees' time to shine.

Most of the maples are done, and now it’s the oak trees’ time to shine.

This park has an amazing array of wildlife habitats, you can walk in rolling hills or around the lake or near wetlands. Everywhere you look there is something beautiful. No matter what time of year you visit.

More cranes out in the marsh.

More cranes out in the marsh.

New vignettes will catch your eye each time you walk through the park. It’s best to always have your camera handy.

Two trees.

Two trees.

This was the perfect place to visit after our busy week in Washington DC. I am grateful to Robin for suggesting Walktober. Just like last year I’m thinking I need to do a Walkovember next month.

A good spot for contemplation.

A good spot for contemplation.


Care to join me?

Last of the maple color.

Last of the maple color.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

33 thoughts on “Walktober

  1. Yours was a beautiful walk. Like you, I am nearing the end of this month without having focused on Walktober. Unlike you, that will not happen today with intermittent raindrops falling out there. Perhaps tomorrow. I still have a few days left.

    Like

  2. I love the bright colors of maples. Won’t get to see any this year. 😦

    Like

  3. What a beautiful walk, Dawn! Thank you. It’s been one of those days when I couldn’t get outside, and it perked me up to join you on your walk and see the beauty of the park you picked for Walktober. Your images are gorgeous, and the fall colors are wonderful. I especially love the reflections. I have never seen sandhill cranes except in pictures. I think I need to get up to visit you sometime so you can show them to me. 🙂

    Like

  4. Thank you for taking me along!

    Like

  5. those are some beautiful colors of fall

    Like

  6. Thank you for taking us on such a beautiful walk, Dawn. Not only fall color but great glimpses of wildlife! I loved it!

    Like

  7. I loved our walk, Dawn — thanks for letting me tag along! Your photos are beautiful, especially the lake reflections. My mom, too, loves bittersweet and used to decorate with it. Funny, I haven’t seen any in so long, I’d almost forgotten that. Love your new header — that’s a chickadee, isn’t it??

    Like

  8. WOw, the pictures are beautiful!!! Colors are wonderful

    Like

  9. Pingback: Walktober 2015: The round-up | breezes at dawn

  10. Another perfect autumnal walk. Oh the beautiful colors … but it was the orange berries that got the biggest wow. That small pic through the maple tree with the lake in the background was next for me. Thanks for sharing and letting me to travel along.

    Like

  11. What a beautiful walk, Dawn. The photos were stunning. I especially loved the willow and water photo. It made me feel happy and pensive at the same time.

    Like

  12. Thank you for sharing your beautiful walk, Dawn. I am a huge fan of foliage, wildlife and reflections and you’ve hit all three.
    I would be very “in” with a Walkovember too!

    Like

  13. Lovely colours, thanks for the stroll by the lake, I do love reflections. I’ve often thought of doing an April walk to compliment Robin’s Walktober, please do give me a shout if you organise one too.
    🙂

    Like

  14. Enjoyed your walk, and especially the pictures of the sandhill cranes and the nuthatch. What a beautiful park, a good place to appreciate nature and the changing seasons…

    Like

  15. What a gorgeous walk…beauty everywhere you look and a bonus treat of seeing sandhill cranes. Loved the shot of the picnic area with the trees reflected in the lake – perfect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

