Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Night lights and hope

12 Comments

Arlington lights

Arlington lights

I’m here in the hotel room while my husband is walking to the grocery store. I should be working on the speeches I will be giving over the weekend, but I don’t want to. So I went out on the balcony and photographed the buildings all lit up around us.

That was pretty fun.

We haven’t gone into DC yet, we’re still out in Arlington at The Truck Safety Coalition office, checking awards, printing data sheets, stuffing folders, making calls, verifying participants, making appointments, rewriting speeches and discussing session outlines. There’s a lot to do.

This will be our biggest conference ever, the most participants and the most confirmed appointments with Members and agencies on the Hill. The very important bill we’re worried about (Transportation Reauthorization Bill) is being “marked up” (worked on) this Thursday in committee, so our timing turns out to be perfect. We will be talking to Congressional staff and committee members on Monday and Tuesday; our views should be up front and center in the minds of committee members as they work on the bill Thursday.

We’ll do the best we can to convince everyone that federal law allowing 33 foot double trailers should not overrun more than 20 states that currently prohibit the longer trailers. Everywhere I go here in DC Congressional staff tell me that issues I want resolved should be decided ‘at the state level.’ And now the American Trucking Association wants the federal government to grant them permission to run their longer trailers right over state laws. And worse, many members of Congress are quite willing to do that!

So. Tonight I am tired but optimistic. And to take a break from all this truck stuff I stand on my dark balcony pointing the camera at a dazzling quilt of light. My fervent hope is that the light will finally come on in Congressional and Agency heads and hearts and that they will make decisions based on safety rather than industry profits or campaign contributions.

This time please let safety win.

Daddy

Daddy

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Night lights and hope

  1. Thinking positive thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. we have you all in out thought but sadly government doesn’t seem to like to take any action on what is good for people – just what is good for business.

    Like

  3. Longer trailers, more weight = very bad idea. My husband read a book recently about the “Edmund Fitzgerald” and how it had much less freeboard and rode lower in the water than was previous the case for Great Lakes shipping boats because of a new ruling that allowed heavier loads. What’s safe doesn’t change, and changing the rules to override safety is a recipe for disaster.

    Like

  4. My thoughts and prayers are with you, Dawn — hang in there, and best of luck getting them to see the light!

    Like

  5. Thinking of you and your wonderful efforts. Sending positive thoughts your way!

    Like

  6. Good luck in preventing those long trailers to run free. By the way I really like the night photo from your hotel room.

    Like

Leave a Reply

