Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Working in the nation’s capitol

8 Comments

Sunset in Washington DC

Sunset in Washington DC

The sun is going down, glowing pink on the condos and office buildings near our hotel. I wish I was just a tourist here. I wish I was going to spend tomorrow taking pictures of monuments, going on tours, walking leisurely through Georgetown. But that’s not why I’m here this time. This time I’m here to work.

Day one preparing for this weekend’s conference is complete. Speeches written, calls made, agendas discussed and revised. Tomorrow is another day as we nail down more details.

As those of you on Facebook know, I fell while crossing the street on Sunday and scraped up my knee on one leg, twisted my ankle on the other. So I’m icing the ankle every night and hoping that by the time I need to walk to meetings on Capitol Hill I’ll be able to walk without a limp.

Such is the life of a middle-aged person not looking where she’s going. But I’ve got my eyes focused on truck safety issues as we work through this week. I look forward to the volunteers that will be arriving on Friday. I know we will be noticed. I hope our message is taken to heart by a few more politicians and that we can start to see movement toward safety in upcoming bills.

I hope you will send good thoughts our way as we begin again to climb the very big mountain in front of us.

Talk to you tomorrow, dad.

Talk to you tomorrow, dad.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

8 thoughts on “Working in the nation’s capitol

  1. It still hurts sometimes. Thanks for keeping me in tune with the work you are doing.

    Like

  2. A bushel of good thoughts coming your way. If you need a rope to help ascend the mountain, let me know.

    Like

  3. How ironic that you’re in the capitol for a Safety conference, yet you’re the one failing to be safe!! Dawn, I cracked ribs when I tripped while walking — glad your fall wasn’t that painful (though be sure to rest because ankles are crucial for walking!!)
    Best wishes for much success with the presentations — go get ’em!!

    Like

  4. Sending good thoughts your way, Dawn, and hoping your injury heals fast. Let us know if there is pending legislation we need to write to our Congress people about. I know you will. Power to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

