Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Never quit

20 Comments

From our 2013 conference.

From our 2013 conference.

Soon we’ll be on our way to Washington DC again. Many of you know that I volunteer with the Truck Safety Coalition, a nonprofit group that works to make changes in regulations and rules governing commercial trucks in an effort to make the roads safer for all of us. And you know that I do this because my dad was killed by a sleepy semi driver back in December of 2004.

Eleven years ago my family’s life was changed forever. It seems like a hundred years. It seems like yesterday. And for four days every other year we are immersed in it, totally focused on the issues and the emotions. We will join other families next weekend, other scarred, hurting families, other people that want their loss to mean something. You can read about our last conference in 2013 at my blog posts here, here and, if you read only one, especially here.

During our time together we are safe to express our continued grief regardless of how many years have passed. And we are able to provide support to the new families who have unwillingly joined our painful club. It’s a long, hard road we’re all on, a complicated argument, a difficult fight that we face. The odds of a group of ordinary citizens making inroads in a system influenced by campaign contributions by the American Trucking Association are low. But we’re a noisy group.

And we aren’t going to quit.

Because the people whose lives were lost, and those whose lives were forever changed, deserve to be heard. We are the voice for those that can no longer speak and we make sure they are not forgotten. In their honor we work to keep everyone safer, those of us on the road as well as the drivers of the commercial trucks.

Stay tuned.

For you dad.

For you dad.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “Never quit

  1. Hopefully this year your voices will be heard.

    Like

  2. Will indeed stay tuned and thinking of you and hoping for a good outcome.

    Like

  3. Good luck, Dawn. I hope this year brings about great changes. I know it’s not that easy, but I can hope.

    Like

  4. I know it must often seem like an uphill battle, Dawn, but please, Battle On! Who knows how many families have been touched by a similar tragedy, all under the guise of profits. My own dear dad has been gone nearly seven years now (cancer), and I totally empathize — we girls just never stop missing our daddies, do we?

    Like

    • Approximately 4000 people die in crashes with commercial trucks each year. 100,000 are injured in similar crashes. It’s amazing we can’t get more attention.

      Like

  5. We’ve been doing a lot of traveling lately (since retirement) and every time I see a semi head over the line in either side of his/her lane, I immediately assume the driver is on the phone, texting or talking. And I’m always correct! I’m sure this is greatly contributing to crashes, too.

    Best wishes to you in your efforts.

    Like

    • Yes that is a huge problem. Combined with the hours they are required to work, the miles they are required to travel, the fatigue they feel, being on the phone can be deadly.

      Like

  6. I’m sorry for your loss, and good luck!

    Like

  7. I clicked on the link….Congratulations Dawn !!

    Like

  8. Thank you for fighting the good fight. Then of course one could expect no less for a Sheltie or Collie owner.

    Like

  9. I am sorry to hear about your dad – your dedication to him and all of us is why our government works – because of the buy in and motivation of citizens to actively engage. I teach 8th grade US History and we are beginning our study of the Constitution and the purpose of government. For the people, by the people…. thanks and peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

