Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Another shot missed

20 Comments

Sunshine, crisp golden light, maple leaves turning red and gold…how could I resist grabbing the camera and the dog and heading out over the frost covered lawn to the pond across the street. The trees in my neighbor’s yard were stunning in the sunshine.

Morning glow

Morning glow

And those across their pond were beautiful as well. Katie and I moved along the road looking for a spot to capture them.

Morning calm.

Morning calm.

I was focused on catching the light and the water while standing on the dog’s leash and listening for cars when I heard a soft, short grunt off to my right. I didn’t look right then, didn’t look until there was a rush of wings and a loud squawk.

A blue heron was lifting off of a submerged tree limb about 10 yards away. He’d probably been sitting there as Katie and I got closer and closer. He gave me a warning grunt and I didn’t listen.

So this is all I got:

Flying away.

Flying away.

I’ve been trying to get a great shot of a blue heron for years. Years. And there he was standing there next to me and I never even noticed. If I had glanced over at the first grunt I think there would have been an amazing shot. But I’ll never know.

Back at home moments after Katie and I came in four young deer crossed the road we had just been standing on. I don’t have a picture of them in the morning glow either. I was too busy trying to keep Katie from flinging herself against the windows to grab the camera.

Silly us.

Missed another one Mama!

Missed another one Mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “Another shot missed

  1. The pictures you did get are quite beautiful love the water on. The same thing happens to me all the time. if I am outside here at the house without my camera a hawk flys over low enough to get a great shot. If I have my camera I never see them.

    Like

    • I am constantly reminding myself that I need to take the camera EVERYWHERE. But I don’t. When I don’t have it I see the most amazing things. I know the feeling!

      Like

  2. As Sonya said, the shots you did get are great, but the shots we missed are a lot like the fish that got away, aren’t they?

    Like

  3. Reminds me of my brother getting a picture of the rear end of a bear.

    Like

  4. I see a blue heron every morning…but always flying away. He’s so skittish! Why wont he be my friend? Still, its a thrill to see him at all.

    Like

  5. I love the photos you got, Dawn!! Such lovely Fall colors — we’ve still got a lot of green here.

    Like

  6. You’ll get one eventually. And I wish I had trees like you’ve got!

    Like

  7. The blue heron is really hard to get a good shot at. But I like the one you got – and the ones of the autumn colours are of course gorgeous.

    Like

  8. I love the water shot, it looks very tranquil. The bird is great too even though it’s not exactly how you wanted to capture it.

    Like

  9. Camera and dog can be a challenging combination. I do like your heron in flight, though. Different, which is good. The first time I saw a pair standing by the old millpond in Northport, I thought they were sculptures and worried that someone would make off with them. Then one raised a foot in that slow, stalking way. Wow!

    Like

    • I can understand thinking they are sculptures. They stand so still. I like the heron in flight too…though go to my FB page and see a little green heron shot that someone got. It’s amazing!

      Like

  10. I’ve lamented missed shots like that too, but of course you had the great experience! And as our friend Carol might say, perhaps that was enough!
    Your autumn colors are lovely!

    Like

    • Yes, it was enough for that morning. I am still hoping that someday, somewhere, I’ll get the shot I have kept in my imagination for so long. Our fall colors are gorgeous!

      Like

Leave a Reply

