Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Quebec Province trois

6 Comments

After a day of walking (over 9 miles, 23,000+ steps, 80+ flights of stairs) we decided we needed to do something that did not involve so much activity.

So we drove northeast to the small town of Les Eboulements and stayed at a bed and breakfast. We’ve never stayed at a B&B before, and I felt like I was a visitor in someone’s home. Which I guess we were.

Our B&B, breakfast was fabulous.

Our B&B, breakfast was fabulous.

In the morning we left after a home cooked breakfast served on the screened porch. We headed up and over the mountains on roads like this:

Roller coaster roads.

Roller coaster roads.

We saw many signs warning us of steep downhills. They even gave us the percentage of the grade. The steepest we had was 18%.

Slow down!  Put the car in a lower gear!  Do not panic!

Slow down! Put the car in a lower gear! Do not panic!

And though this is moose and whale country, the only moose we saw were these….

There was also a sign that said if a moose destroyed your car, call 511.

There was also a sign that said if a moose destroyed your car, call 511.

…and the only whale was this one at a park in Saguenay which was the furthest north we got.

Whale of a fountain.

Whale of a fountain.

We also saw a lot of this….

Stop!

Stop!

…and had to follow a few of these through road construction sites:

Follow me!

Follow me!

But we also got to see a lot of this…

So peaceful.

So peaceful.

…and this…

Covered bridge over Ha! Ha! river.

Covered bridge over Ha! Ha! river.

…and this…

You can't see me.  Right?

You can’t see me. Right?

…and especially this:

Saguenay's fiord.

Saguenay’s fiord.

We wished we had time to go further north, it just kept getting prettier. But it was a long day in the car and we were glad to get back to our B&B.

Because in the morning it was time to head south for more adventures.

Stay tuned!

We even got our gas pumped for us!

We even got our gas pumped for us!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

6 thoughts on “Quebec Province trois

  1. Your trip is reminding me of the road trip husband and I took to see my brother in Minnesota – we drove through western Canada on our way home.

    Like

  2. Wow! Gorgeous!

    I’m a big fan of bed and breakfasts. I think it helps you get to know the locals better and to really get a feel for the area. You always leave feeling like you made new friends.

    Like

    • Yes, I liked the innkeeper, though she was pretty much all business….at the end though she really smiled and held my hand to say goodbye. Could have been my mom, but I imagine we’re pretty much the same age.

      Like

  3. Such beautiful scenery, Dawn. I must put Canada on my Need-to-Visit list!

    Like

  4. How beautiful, Dawn! And faraway. I wanna go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

