Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: Monochromatic

14 Comments

We are traveling, so I’m taking lots (husband says hundreds and he is right) of photos. I’m going to pick out a few from our first three days to show you monochromatic on vacation.

The first one is from our visit to Fort Niagara on the American side of the river.

Window with a basket.

Window with basket.

The second is from our visit to Niagara Falls.

Boat in mist.

Boat in mist.

And the third is from a marvelous spot in Ontario Canada called The Big Apple Pie Factory.

Which one doesn't belong?

Green in red.

I knew about the challenge when we visited the apple pie store, so I took that last one on purpose. Even rearranged the apples in the barrel to my liking while no one was looking. I took full advantage of the permission granted to use a splash of color to set off the main values, especially on the apple shot, though I like the brown of the basket against the grey of the window too.

Looking through my photos I’ve learned that I take quite a lot of monochromatic shots. I think it’s something I’m drawn to, but I didn’t realize that until this challenge. You can go to the original post to see other people’s versions of monochromatic.

Thanks for stopping by!

See you soon!

See you soon!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: Monochromatic

  1. What beautiful photos, Dawn! Sounds like a lovely vacation, too. Sigh.

    Like

  2. Monochromatic with one spot that stands out – they’re all great!

    Like

  3. we are enjoying your vacation – we are adding more places to visit ‘one day’ 🙂

    Like

  4. Hello well done i like this shot

    Come and enjoy participate to my photo challenge
    http://www.sylvain-landry.com/sl-week/sl-week-11-flare.html

    Like

  5. Love the window
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  6. These are wonderful, Dawn, and made me see the idea of a monochromatic image in a different light. Love that last shot of you and the big smiling apple. 🙂

    Like

  7. Fantastic – FYI – I live just a few miles away from the “Big Apple”. Hope you enjoyed your visit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love all the textures in the first photo, all the unexpected ways the same color shows up. But, it’s fall, and I really like the apples. That green one makes the photo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

