Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Where are we now?

16 Comments

We started our trip near Niagara Falls, spending a lovely evening walking on the Canadian side of the river enjoying the falls, the lights, the beautiful night air.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you see the falls back there?

We even rode the giant ferris-wheel and got a fun view of the falls just as they were lit up for the evening.

Very large ride...and they sent us around 4 times!

Very large ride…and they sent us around 4 times!

We started today at a town called Niagara on the Lake. It’s unbelievably beautiful, especially this time of year. They have flowers everywhere! And the annuals are at peak right now. They have huge gardens in the medians, and along all the store fronts.

Let's sit a spell.

Let’s sit a spell.

I could spend this entire blog just showing you photos of flowers. But we must move on. On to Fort George, on the Canadian side of the Niagara River.

Our guide Courtney explains about life at the fort.

Our guide Courtney explains about life at the fort.

There we learned about life in the fort, especially during the time of the 1812 war. Life wasn’t easy. And though this fort and the fort across the river on the American side started out friendly things got rough when the British and the Americans decided they both wanted Fort Niagara for all sorts of political reasons.

Ft George was built of wood, never meant for defense.  It was burned and the entire town also burned by the Americans.

Ft George was built of wood, never meant for defense. It was burned and the entire town also burned by the Americans.

It was interesting to hear the story told from the British point of view. On our way over to visit the American’s Fort Niagra we stopped at a monument for General Brock. It has 235 steps to the top; a narrow winding spiral staircase.

This is in a beautiful park.

This is in a beautiful park.

You know we had to do that. It was a bit like running a marathon without training. Now I know for sure I’ll never sign up for the race they do up the stairs at the empire state building. As if there was any thought of doing that. Which there has not been.

After we found our way back down we headed over to Fort Niagara to hear the American’s version of the war.

Standing on Canadian soil looking across the river at Ft Niagara.

Standing on Canadian soil looking across the river at Ft Niagara.

Our guide there talked about how the fort was designed. It was built of stone, by the French as a fur trading operation, then taken over by the British to control traffic on the river.

Notice our American guide is more casual than the guide in Canada.

Notice our American guide is more casual than the guide in Canada.

Fort Niagara is beautiful, especially the officers’ quarters. There’s a room there, up on the second floor with a view of Lake Ontario that was begging for me to stay the night.

Guest room with my name on it.

Guest room with my name on it.

We had a wonderful day. We more than met our 10,000 steps and 10 flights of stairs. I think tomorrow will be more of the same. My heart says go for it. My feet say take a break!

Stunning stone building protected by cannons.

Stunning stone building protected by cannons.

I hope you will enjoy this trip with us. I wish I could show you all the wonderful things we saw. But I guess for you to truly understand you’ll have to head on up here for yourself!

Pretty in blue.

Pretty in blue.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Where are we now?

  1. Oh, that guest room looked so warm and comfortable, colorful and spa-like.
    Not!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We love traveling around and seeing different places but that lady scares us
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  3. I would love to see for myself, but in lieu of that, I’ll tag along on your coat tails. Thank you for the invite.

    Like

  4. What a delightful trip — thanks for letting me tag along (now I’ll have to figure out another way to get my 10,000 steps in!!). As for that guest room, well, I’m glad it’s got *your* name on it and not mine, ha!

    Like

  5. I like that little chair facing the open window.

    Like

  6. What a great trip! You are walking the places I still have on my list! Great pictures Dawn, now I have to make the journey back to the Niagara region!

    Like

    • We loved Niagara on the Lake, though all we did was eat breakfast there (not really a shopper)…the flowers were phenomenal! And both sides of the falls were fun. LOVED walking on the American side up and down the stairs near and almost under the falls, and of course the boat ride was great too. I haven’t posted about all that yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh! I would have wanted to stay in that room too! Looks like a wonderful trip. It’s been a long time since I visited Niagara Falls and Niagara on the Lake. Seeing your beautiful photos makes me want to go back someday. Soon. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

