Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Random leftovers

8 Comments

I’ve been home a couple of days now and I’m sorting through photos. There are so many that you didn’t get to see. If you follow me on Facebook you saw the daily good morning lake photos, and quite a few of food we ate. But there was more to my trip than just the lake or food, or even family. Though all of that was a huge part of a wonderful trip.

Last boat ride back to the house.

Last boat ride back to the house.

I drove down to Alabama, and there was plenty to see along the way. I’ll try to share a bit of the trip with you here.

Kentucky tobacco field.

Kentucky tobacco field.

I only saw one field of tobacco the whole trip. I happened to get off the freeway for something else, and noticed barns. Well. You know me and barns..and the next thing you know I’m driving out on a little two lane road that twists and turns through farmland.

Tobacco barn

Tobacco barn

Sure was pretty, as long as you ignored that it was tobacco. Soon enough though I needed to get back on the road. I could spend hours, probably days, wandering in the country looking at farms but I had to stop it and just move on.

These people at the Tennessee Welcome Center are sort of moving and stopping all at the same time too.

Frozen in time.

Frozen in time.

It’s an art installation and I thought it was kind of cool. So did lots of people; almost everyone stopped to have their picture taken, or to take their kids’ pictures, in part of the exhibit.

While I was in Alabama I visited my brother at another large lake. We watched an osprey sit on a high tension electrical tower and eat a huge fish.

Lunch

Lunch

This photo kind of makes me think about Edgaer Allan Poe. Don’t know why…just does.

On my way back home this past weekend I happened on these two old trucks in Kentucky. It was another nice find while I was driving a two lane road between tiny little towns.

Resting

Resting

Two lane trips are just so much more photogenic than freeways. Especially when you have the time to wander. Right after I saw the photogenic trucks I ran across a swimming hole…

Summer swimming time

Summer swimming time

…for cows. I couldn’t believe I actually saw cows swimming. I had to turn around and go back. I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised, it was really hot that day. The two cows in front were swimming across the pond so fast they actually had wakes behind them. Just like little motor boats.

And on the last day of the drive home I stopped for lunch at a truck stop that sold Subway sandwiches. After I got my sandwich I noticed this across the road:

Barbecue goodness

Barbecue goodness

It’s a sign for a barbecue place. Probably should have gone there instead. I guess you can figure out what they serve. Can’t you?

Summer in the South. Somewhere there’s probably a good song or two about it. I hope you enjoyed a few of the sights. I know I did.

Floating

Floating

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

8 thoughts on “Random leftovers

  1. Cows swimming?! That’s amazing! SidEtrips often net the most interesting sites but as you noted time doesn’t always allow unless you’re retired, she said enviously.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Back roads are the way to really see things if you have the time. Loved the old truck! Cows love the water. Or at least standing in the water. Thanks for taking us home with you.

    Like

  3. There are so many things to see that are fun, interesting, amazing or unusual when we take the time to look. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Wonderful trip — thanks for sharing it, Dawn!

    Like

  5. These are great, Dawn — especially the swimming cows! Who knew?? Not me, that’s for sure. Isn’t it wonderful what we can see when we slow down a bit and take some back roads? Thanks for sharing your trip with us (since some of us don’t do Facebook, ha!)

    Like

  6. Wow, cows in the water! Love it! And maybe the Edgar Allen Poe reminder is from that well-known line “Quoth the raven, nevermore” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awesome pictures but the truck… I am in love!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

