Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Sweet Southern Story

7 Comments

I was at the local grocery store in the small Alabama town where I’ve been hanging out for the past couple of weeks. An older man (probably about my age if I were truthful) is leaving the deli counter, a package in his hand, walking toward me.

He looks me in the eye and says “If I had any peanut brittle I’d give you some.”

I figure he’s talking to the women behind the counter, so I smile vaguely and turn my cart into an aisle, looking for something on my grocery list. He follows me and calls out. “Have you ever made peanut brittle?”

I respond that I had, but it was a long long time ago. He repeats the question. I repeat my answer. He comes closer and says he’s sorry he can’t hear me. So I say it again.

“Where’s that accent of yours from?” he asks.

“Michigan,” I say.

“Your team gonna do anything this year?” he asks.

I look at him blankly.

“You’ve got a good new coach.”

I figure out he’s talking about the University of Michigan, so I just nod in agreement…backing up down the aisle.

“You living here now?” he asks.

“No…just visiting.” I say.

“Well if you’re living around here you got to make a choice.” he says. “You got to choose either Alabama or Auburn. Doesn’t much matter which you choose but you got to make the choice.”

“You know this guy?” he asks, pointing to a store employee behind me shelving cans.

“No, I say.”

“Hey there!” says the clerk to the man.

“He’s rooting for the wrong team” says the man.

“I still pray for you every night.” says the young clerk smiling.

All three of us resume our business but the smiles stay with me as I drive back to the house. I’m still not sure what peanut brittle had to do with anything. But people sure are friendly down here in the South. Except on football weekends.

Just down the lake is a boat dock with a flag that flies. The homeowner has made his choice clear. For those of you not from around here that’s the Alabama A blowing in the breeze.

Football is huge down here.

Football is huge down here.

Wonder what would happen if I were to hang Auburn’s flag at the end of our dock.

Go Tigers.
2000px-Auburn_University_Athletics_logo.svg

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Sweet Southern Story

  1. That encounter made that shopping trip a lot more interesting!

    Like

  2. that is the thing we noticed when we moved to florida – how much more friendly people are – they top and chat with you about anything and i often wonder if they have mistaken us for someone they know – but they just like chatting

    Like

  3. Hmmmm, if they knew Michigan, they would know all about Michigan and Michigan State.

    As for talking to people Dad found that true when he lived in Oklahoma. When people drive by each other on the county roads they would wave at each other. Seems a lot of the smaller towns are like that. People are not in the hustle and bustle of the East or West coast

    Like

Leave a Reply

