Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Black & white photo challenge: Shadows and reflections

16 Comments

Shadows and reflections. Having spent the better part of two weeks on the lake I’ve been struck by the many beautiful reflections I’ve seen, and I’ve used quite a few of them in the last few posts. Maybe, just maybe, there’s nothing new to show you.

Still. Cee’s black and white challenge is intriguing and I haven’t done enough of them. In fact, I had to go back and watch the you tube instructions again because I’d already forgotten how to convert a color photograph to black and white since I did my last black and white for Cee’s challenge a few weeks ago.

After I figured out how to do it, the question became what to use. I had a couple of ideas but what it came down to was the still water right in front of the lake house, and the reflection we look at in all different kinds of light whenever we’re here, of the house across the way.

Early morning stillness.

Early morning stillness.

You can tell the weather just by the way the house reflects in the water. If it’s dimpled there is rain. If it’s ruffled there is wind. If it’s perfect it’s water-ski water!

So I guess you can tell what we did right after taking this picture earlier in the week.

Yep, it involved a boat.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Black & white photo challenge: Shadows and reflections

    • Thank you. I was going through my photos from this trip, looking for reflections because I know this time I took a LOT of stuff that was reflected in the lake. Didn’t think about using the house across the water because I’m so used to seeing it every day. But then I thought the clean lines of the house would look nice in black and white and I tried it, along with some others…and the house was the clear winner.

      Like

  1. It’s as if you duplicated your image, flipped it and added a slight blur. Perfect!

    Like

  2. Such a clear day it was when you took this photo. So peaceful.

    Like

  3. “Early Morning Stillness”

    Sounds like a book title.

    LOVELY! xx

    Like

  4. that is the most perfect picture – how can you not want to live there all the time – it is such a beautiful spot?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: What is Beautiful to You | Cee's Photography

  6. Congratulations! I have selected this post to be featured in Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge.
    http://ceenphotography.com/2015/09/10/cees-black-white-photo-challenge-what-is-beautiful-to-you/
    I sure hope you are having a wonderful week.

    Like

  7. such a beautiful reflection.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap Up – September 12, 2015 and WPC Monochromatic | Cee's Photography

Leave a Reply

