Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Gift of water

22 Comments

Last summer days.

Last summer days.

My dad was always a water person. He played, as a boy, on the banks of a river and he and my mother went on a canoe trip down that river for their very first date. During his entire life he wanted to live on water, and he accomplished that when I was a kid, and then again later in life.

Reflective.

Reflective.

The love of water is one of the gifts my parents gave us. And another is their home. Tucked away on a big lake in a warm state it’s a place their kids gather to relax and spend time together.

Water that goes on forever.

Water that goes on forever.

I was thinking about what a wonderful gift the love of water is as we were out on their lake today. Big puffy white clouds interspersed with ominous dark streaks floated above us as my brother skied, as we floated near our favorite island, as we visited the mountain near where their ashes were spread eleven years ago.

Mountain accompanies lake.

Mountain balances lake.

Water. The basis of life. Magical, ever changing. Beautiful.

Evening falls.

Evening falls.

Aren’t we lucky that our folks passed on their love of water and then made sure we were able to enjoy it for years to come.

They are always near.

They are always near.

And aren’t we lucky we get to spend time on a beautiful lake while thinking about them, telling stories about them, appreciating them.

Remembering them.

Island stands tall.

Island stands tall.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “Gift of water

  1. You are very fortunate – for the beautiful memories you carry, the common ground on which you can gather with your loved ones, and the obvious love you have for one another.

    Like

  2. I love your perspective. I am a lover of the water as well—not that I am a lover of being in it but rather being by it. There is something just so soothing about a body of water to me. It calms me like nothing else can. Lovely post.

    Like

  3. And you’re especially lucky that you and your siblings get along and can share memories of your parents. Not all grown siblings can, sad to say. I’m with Beth Ann — I love being near the water, but I don’t particularly like being in or on it! Fear of water runs on my mom’s side from way back, and despite my dad’s love of being in the water, I guess that fear was just too strong in me.

    Like

  4. Yes, that’s lovely, Dawn.

    Like

  5. they sy we are 97% water so it is no wonder we love near being near it

    Like

  6. Very lucky indeed.

    Like

  7. Lovely…I love that second one.

    Like

  8. Very lucky. Beautiful images for a beautiful post, Dawn.

    Like

  9. Dawn, Your grandfather also loved the water. At one time we owned two lake lots. Unfortunately we never built on them. But the canoe your dad used was covered with red wood that Grandpa Badger made. And I have been canoeing since I was a little child. I really miss not having a partner to canoe with.
    Love, Aunt Becky

    Like

Leave a Reply

