Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Reflection

6 Comments

Morning quiet

Morning quiet

Early in the morning I sit on the deck overlooking the still lake. It is cool, surprisingly cool, as I prop my feet up on the railing and open my book. Neighborhood dogs are barking at something up the shoreline, but here on the deck it is quiet except for the fluttering of wings. So many birds flitting around the trees, I only catch a glimpse of some; a house finch, a cardinal glowing in the dappled morning light. I think the birds are startled to see me there, being used to the emptiness of this house. A hummingbird suddenly appears. It stares at the red t-shirt I slept in last night and am still wearing. Then he zooms away and I feel sad that there is no food for him, that there hasn’t been a feeder here for the past 11 years.

Mom always kept the feeder full.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

6 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. so peaceful and beautiful…not a ripple to be found
    DakotasDen

    Like

  2. Beautiful, peaceful photo. Sad about the birds’ lack of food…and I know you were missing your mom.

    Like

  3. So much serenity, so many wonderful memories. The hummer may not have a feeder, but there are those clematis. . . .

    Like

  4. Morning really is the best time of day. Maybe it was really your mom making a visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a beautiful, peaceful scene. I bet the hummingbird was just coming around to say hello for your mom.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Now that’s a big reflecting pool
    Snorts,
    Lily & Edward

    Like

Leave a Reply

