Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Wordless Wednesday – arch nemesis

25 Comments

squirrel edited August 2015

Imported Photos 02047 edited

Imported Photos 02064 edited

Imported Photos 02065 edited

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

25 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – arch nemesis

  1. Great shots!

    Like

  2. you made my Mom’s day, she LOVES squirrels! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  3. Where’s your princess?? Dallas goes NUTS when squirrels are in “his” back yard!!

    Like

    • She went nuts when the squirrel was on the railing with the day lily pod…but she didn’t see him later when he was lounging in the dry birdbath, and then sunbathing.

      Like

  4. The squirrels are really counting on me. When we came back from our afternoon walk yesterday morning, there were 6 squirrels cavorting around our front porch. They for sure know Petey is on a leash. Rascals.

    Like

    • They are pretty smart. I thought it odd that the squirrel was lounging in the birdbath. When I first saw him there he was laying on his side with one arm flung over the side, just like a model for a photo shoot. By the time I got the camera he had moved the arm, still it was odd. He also scrounged around in the feeder, I thought he was eating seed that had fallen there..but in retrospect I think he was licking the bottom for the last drops of water. I went out and filled it after I figured that out.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great shots! Does Katie tolerate these intrusions into her yard?

    Like

  6. but they are so cute 🙂

    Like

  7. Scat!
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. You have captured a cute little guy. A lovely series of photographs.

    Like

  9. Adorable. I have those same mixed feelings about them – drive me crazy when they empty a bird feeder but they are like cute little acrobats throughout their endeavors.

    Like

    • I enjoy watching them. When we first moved here we didn’t have any..but after 20+ years of feeding the birds we now have regular brown squirrels, black squirrels, little red squirrels and chipmunks.

      Like

  10. Squirrel. That was my first guess.

    Like

  11. uh oh!
    If we see one of those grey squirrels here we are supposed to report it, since our area is one of the last places in England where the reds are still around. But I guess it’s just an annoyance over there.

    Like

    • We’ve got lots of different kinds here…including little red squirrels, black squirrels and these guys. Do these guys kick the reds out?

      Like

      • They have been killing them off, they’re not native, carry squirrel pox and give it to the native reds (our only native squirrel) and are bigger and more confident so better at getting food too. I quite like them mind and i don’t agree with culling them, i grew up with them as down south we don’t have any reds left.

        Like

Leave a Reply

