Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Weeding peace

11 Comments

How does your garden grow?

How does your garden grow?


I weeded tall grass out of our wildflower garden this morning. It’s such an easy garden to maintain; this is the first weeding I’ve done, and with the grass as tall as I am it was easy to figure out which was weed and which was not. Plus I got to weed standing up, always a plus.

Pretty in pink.

Pretty in pink.

In the cool shade with a little breeze weeding was actually enjoyable. The only noises were the birds at the feeders and the bees buzzing around the flowers. I hummed along with them as I worked.

Bzzzzzzzzz....

Bzzzzzzzzz….

At one point, carefully standing in the middle of the garden I looked up and thought – – I should go get the camera. This is so pretty Mom would like to see it, I’ll email her some photos.

Does anyone know what this is?  About 3 feet tall.

Does anyone know what this is? About 3 feet tall.

And then, for a split second I remembered and waited for the sad to come rolling over me. But it didn’t.

Royal colors.

Royal colors.

Instead I felt sure she was already seeing it, even before I took the first shot. And I was also sure she thought it was just as beautiful as I do.

Crazy beautiful.

Crazy beautiful.

I remember as a little girl picking her flowers from the fields and woods around the house. She put them in a juice glass and set them up on the windowsill above the kitchen sink. So when I accidentally broke a pretty pink zinnia I tucked it in my shirt right next to my heart. And when I got inside I put it in a juice glass.

And I smiled.

For my mom.

For my mom.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Weeding peace

  1. So pretty! Nice job!

    Like

  2. You have a lovely garden and I’m certain your mom is smiling back at you.

    Like

  3. A garden of memories! Beautiful and nice to hear you can remember your mother without the sadness.

    Like

  4. Some really lovely photos Dawn. I’m sure it’s better in person. Also, I’m sure your mom appreciates your flowers – even the ones that come inside 🙂

    Like

  5. Thanks for the calm thought, on a not so calm day. We need time to remember and go back in time. You’re right, your mom can see them already. Peace.

    Like

  6. those are some beautiful flowers – I know the name of those pink flowers – it begins with G…..it will come back to me in a while 🙂

    Like

  7. Those wild flowers look so pretty
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. Beautiful!

    Like

  9. You’re surrounded by a lot of beauty, Dawn! Loved what you did with the zinnia and feel pretty sure your dear mom would have, too!

    Like

  10. That is really so so pretty!
    It looks like a natural meadow bank and I bet it’s so peaceful!
    Your pink plant looks similar to what we call a hollyhock.
    -Dee

    Like

Leave a Reply

