Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Bet you miss me!

7 Comments

Katie here. I bet you’ve missed me a whole bunch cause my mama won’t let me blog very often. She says it’s not all about me. Whatever do you think she’s talking about? Everything is all about me! Anyway since she’s sleeping in after our big adventure I thought I’d just hijack this blog and tell you all about it. Hurry, she could wake up any minute!

Last Tuesday mama started packing stuff in the car. Well! Last time she did that she left without me, so I made sure to stay underfoot all the time so she didn’t forget me. And guess what? Next thing I know I’m in my crate and we’re on our way!

Ready for take off mama!

Ready for take off mama!

We didn’t drive for very long and we ended up here at my favorite campground. We had a big campsite all to ourselves, and it had lots of grass for me to sniff! It was a pretty campsite, though not as private as the last place we camped. Still, I liked it a lot. So did my mama.

This is my tent.  I let my mama share it.

This is my camp. I let my mama share it.

Mama set up the tent. I have my own bed and pillows. I like pillows on top of my bed because I can see out of my own private window better. And because I’m a princess. But just to make mama laugh I often sleep next to my princess bed. On the floor. Without pillows. Cause I’m a crazy camping girl and always do what I want regardless of what mama thinks is good for me.

What are you looking at?

What are you looking at?


I do that outside too. In the morning when the grass is wet mama gives me a towel to hang out on. Just to prove my point I go lay down somewhere else. In the wet grass. Because I can.

I don't need a towel mama!

I don’t need a towel mama!

I don’t think mama understands me at all.

But anyway. We had a lot of fun. I got to go on lots of walks and take lots of naps…well not really a lot of naps. I stayed awake all the time protecting my mama. Yes I did. A camping dog’s responsibilities are very demanding. You have to be very vigilant!

Just resting my eyes.

Just resting my eyes.

Our second night mama says we had a visitor to our campsite. She thinks it was a raccoon. Or a camp monster. It stayed around our tent for at least an hour and mama was kinda upset. I slept through most of it until the ugly smell woke me up. I think the racoon monster needed to take a shower. I barked once at it and lunged at my window, but mama held me and said ‘shhhhhhh’ and so I went back to sleep. It appeared she had it under control and I was tired. Mama was sad because she wanted to go outside right about then to watch for meteorites, but she felt like it was easier to control me while we were inside the tent rather than us being outside with the camp monster. Sigh. At least that’s what she says. Personally I think she was just scared.

Don't be scared mama!

Don’t be scared mama!

I love camping. All you doggies out there — I can’t encourage you enough to get your moms and dads to take you camping! You’ll get to spend quality time with them under the night sky and on walks and just hanging out at the campground! You’ll get to meet other dogs too. You won’t believe how many dogs get to go camping! All kinds! And the smells! Amazing! You’ve just got to try it! Even if you do get a little damp!

Damp curls.

Damp curls.

Yep, I had a wonderful time and as always I was sorry when mama took the tent down. But she says we’ll go camping again someday. Now I have to go take a nap. I’m going to dream of sweet green grass and hundreds of stars in the dark sky and the fresh air blowing the leaves on the trees, and special smells, and lots of love.

Until next time!

Until next time!

Cause that’s camping!!

I took mama's chair.

I took mama’s chair.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Bet you miss me!

  1. We’ve been missing you a lot, Princess Katie and we’re so happy to see you here again. What a lucky girl you’re, camping is a fantastic activity I guess as I haven’t had any camping before. Mom is scared of mosquitoes that we’ve too many here and it isn’t safe for us to camp in the park.
    I’m like you: I love sleeping beside my bed on the floor even though she thinks the bed and pillow are more comfy. Our moms don’t really understand us, do they? Because we are shelties, and we are PRINCESSES!

    ~Eva

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You would think now that your all retired you would have lots more time to blog but we guess that also means Mom has a lot of time to blog now too. You just need to remind her that you are the number 1 princess and that you have to be able to talk to your adoring fans. Our Mom use to go camping all the time in her younger days but she says her old bones couldn’t handle it these days 🙂

    Like

  3. oh Katie what a wonderful adventure!!! I am so happy you and your Mom had a pawesome time, even with that “Camp monster!!!”

    Like

  4. Katie, you are so lucky your mama retired so you can have more adventures!

    Like

  5. Oh, Katie, you make camping sound so enticing! I, Dallas, am sure I’d love rolling in the wet grass and spending lots of time with my mama — but something tells me she’d be a scared rabbit out there in the woods like that, heehee!

    Like

  6. Wht fun! I’ve never gone camping like this. You lucky princess!

    Like

  7. It’s always a good idea to check out multiple napping locations.

    Good thing your mama didn’t forget you this time Katie! Surely adventures with Katie are way more fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

