Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Share Your World

13 Comments

Cee has a new list of questions to answer…want to play along? It’s fun. You can answer these questions on your blog and link back to hers. Here are my own responses.

Collecting tiles that represent different factions of my life

Collecting tiles that represent different factions of my life

Are you a collector of anything?

I collect the art tiles of Pat Custer Denison. For a long time I’ve purchased one tile a year. I have enough now to build a unique coffee table. Maybe someday I will. They just make me smile. Most years I buy the one tile from that year’s collection that represents something I enjoy doing. She does larger wall art too. Check out her website. She has a studio in northern Michigan and someday maybe I’ll visit.

What is your biggest fear or phobia? (no photos please)

I’m afraid of being trapped in a car underwater. I actually know someone that survived that, but I could hardly listen to his story it upset me so much. There’s an ad running on TV right now that has a woman in a car trying to get out. I don’t even know what the ad is for because I have to switch the channel immediately when it comes on. I don’t know how I got this phobia but I’ve had it for years.

Do you prefer reading coffee table books (picture), biographies, fiction, non-fiction, educational?

I mostly read fiction, though I have read many biographies and memoirs that I enjoyed. I also love coffee table books because I love good photography of places I’ve been and others I’ll never see any other way.

In fact I like to poke around in just about any kind of book. I almost always find something fun or interesting, even if I don’t buy the book or read the entire thing. You never know what might interest you unless you explore. This is one of the reasons I like libraries and book stores…you can browse books on either side of the one you thought you wanted. You’ll often find much more than you anticipated when you visit your local library or independent bookseller.

Complete this sentence: If I Must Be Reincarnated, In the Next Life I Want to Be…

Well, obviously, I would want to be reincarnated as a dog at my house! But I suppose if I was being reincarnated then there wouldn’t be my house to be a dog in..right? So if that were the case I guess I would want to be a dog in any of my dog friends’ homes…we all spoil our furkids and wouldn’t have it any other way. I want a place with my own pillow and lots of toys, but where I get to sleep in the human bed at night. A place that feeds me great dog food but also shares a bit of their own food with me. A place where my people take me on adventures and I get to share their world. Yep. In my next life I’m going to shoot for being a spoiled rotten dog.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up

I’m retired; I can’t remember last week. But I think last week I was up north enjoying my favorite lake, Lake Michigan, and the company of good friends. That might have been the week before, but it feels like last week, and I’m getting elderly, so indulge me. This week Katie and I are going camping and I’m looking forward to that so much. Katie doesn’t know yet so she’s not particularly excited. But she will be.

Trust me.

Did you say CAMPING mama?

Did you say CAMPING mama?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Share Your World

  1. This is a great idea, Dawn. It really gives one a glimpse into who you are — yep, I think Katie and Dallas have practically perfect lives!!

    Like

  2. I so enjoyed reading your answers. The tiles are fabulous, I obviously love the cat one since I don’t see any dogs.
    Can’t wait to see your photos when you and Katie go camping!

    Like

  3. Your answers were so fun to read. I used to really enjoy camping. Have fun. 😀

    Like

  4. Love those tiles! It seems we think very much alike when it comes to reincarnation.

    Like

  5. coming back as a pampered pet sounds perfect

    Like

  6. I have the same exact fear! I constantly dream that I’m trapped in my car underwater. Convinced it’s how I’m going to die. I have one of those escape hammers in my car. Of course, my dream probably means I’m drowning under so much stress/work, but I take it literally! Or maybe that’s how I died in a previous life?

    ANd yes, I want to come back as my own dog.

    Like

  7. Nice answers from you. It’s good to know you a bit more, Dawn.

    Like

  8. Fun to see you playing along with Cee! Thanks for showing us a bit more about you. Your tiles are really cool!

    Like

Leave a Reply

