Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

There’s a Christmas card on our bird feeders

10 Comments

I have often thought, as I watch the birds visit our feeders, that it looks like a familiar Christmas card. You know the one…where a different kind of colorful bird peeks out from behind all the letters in “Happy Holidays!’ on the front? Just a few minutes ago I was reminded of that card again and went to get the camera, moving slowly, carefully, quietly.

If I had gotten the shot this is what you would have seen:

A huge bright red male cardinal lording over the flat feeder, the feeder I had just moments ago filled with black oiler seed. A female, or perhaps a juvenile cardinal, a chickadee, a house finch and a titmouse were all sitting on the feeder with him, some grabbing a seed and flying up to a branch to eat before coming back for more. He didn’t move from his spot. A juvenile oriole and another female cardinal sat on the top of Katie’s kennel a few feet away waiting their turn. A small black and white woodpecker slips in, grabs a seed and departs. The bright orange male oriole swoops down from the trees to the oriole feeder. There is no grape jelly left. He hops to the top of the pole and stares into the window, voicing his displeasure with a quick burst of machine gun chirps. The male cardinal, impatient with all the activity on his feeder systematically chases all the smaller birds away. Most go to sit in a line on Katie’s pen. Waiting. When he’s done gorging himself and flies off the activity on the flat feeder picks up again. Bright yellow goldfinches have stuck to the thistle feeder throughout all the antics. They are pigs. And a female hummingbird zig zags nervously around her own private feeder.

Can you imagine all of that? I hope so because I didn’t have a chance to get the shot.

As soon as I moved to the kitchen and picked up the camera, turning slowly back around to head to the living room Katie woke from her spot in the dining room, raced to my reading chair next to the window, leaped up and commenced to barking. Because if mama is grabbing the camera and heading toward the windows there must be something out there!

So you’ll have to be satisfied with a picture of the princess instead. After all, she says, nothing else is as beautiful.

Yes I know I'm beautiful.

Who;s the prettiest one of all?

Sigh.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “There’s a Christmas card on our bird feeders

  1. Foiled again! My two big girls often sit or lay like bookends, but when I try to get a picture of them, Shasta invariably gets up and walks toward me. For Bailey, the camera means we cannot have eye contact.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep…they know how to spoil a picture for sure. Katie has decided she’s not going to look at me when I have the camera either unless I shout “TREAT!” That won’t work forever, she’s figuring out I don’t actually HAVE a treat on me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My cannas got so many Japanese beetles that I gave up growing them. Yours look outstanding.

    Like

  3. she was jut telling you he is a much prettier thing to take pictures of 🙂

    Like

  4. I like the picture you painted with your description. I just replenished my bird feeder today… the cats are happy! Finally, something to look at out the windows! 🙂

    Like

  5. Thank you, Katie–NOT! Sounds wonderful, though.

    Like

  6. I am imagining that beautiful picture and it might have a Sheltie in it as well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

