Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Moon over Michigan

17 Comments

This morning I was out early, thanks to Katie the Sheltie-girl, taking pictures of the moon.

Amazing

Amazing

Were you out in your yard looking up at the big full moon this morning too? I wondered, as I stood, feet in the damp grass and a bit of chill in the air, how many other people were out just as the sun was beginning to tip the tops of trees with golden light, all staring up at the beautiful moon shining down on us.

I was busy fiddling with the camera when I heard a flock of geese. I lifted my head just as they flew overhead and thought to myself….”Well..THAT would have been a great shot.”

Noisy moon watchers

Noisy moon watchers

Turns out I got the last couple of them, though I didn’t know it until I looked at the photos long after the sun came up. What you can’t see is that the underside of each of them was rosy with morning sun even though the moon was still hanging low in the sky.

But if you use your imagination you can see it in your heart.

Good morning moon.

Good morning moon.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “Moon over Michigan

  1. Simply stunning shots, Dawn — thank you! Yes, I’m one who tried to get photos of the blue moon. Sadly, mine didn’t come out near as pretty as yours!

    Like

  2. Very nice photos! I looked at the moon when I took the girls out last night but it had a layer of clouds obscuring it, and though I was awake at a ridiculous hour, I did not creep out of my bed.

    Like

  3. oh my those are breathtaking!

    Like

  4. Lovely Dawn. Especially your last sentiments about using your imagination. We are on the other side of the world and I love thinking of those seeing the moon rise while we see it setting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That IS a nice thing to think about…I always used to look at the moon and the stars and think about my family, who lived far away, looking up and seeing the same thing. Comforting.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. That is a pawsome pawtograph of the moon.

    I give 10 out of 10 dog biscuits.

    Like

  6. Cool shots Dawn! I have a love/hate relationship with moon photography – I love how beautiful the moon is, and I love how much fun it is to try photograph, and I love when I am occasionally in just the right spot for a good picture (I’m ususally not, lol) and I hate how frustrated I get sometimes trying to get the camera to see what I see!

    Like

  7. I see the rosy tints in my mind’s eye. You did a good job getting the moon. I wanted to have the moon over the barn and/or trees, but the contrast confused my camera, and I guess I shared that confusion.

    Like

  8. Even if you can’t see how low it is, you can still see it’s a lovely image of the moon – a nice bonus when you’re up anyway 😉

    Like

    • Yes, lots of early mornings I get up mad at Katie and then see something extraordinary out there that I would have missed, so I forgive her early tendencies.

      Like

      • If you could talk to Tony about that, things might go easier at our house 😉
        He gets just irate when Petey can’t settle in and do his business. He takes it personally. We are fortunate though – Petey never asks to go out in the middle of the night.

        Like

Leave a Reply

