Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Overnight in paradise

14 Comments

Peaceful

Peaceful


I went north to Nortport this week, specifically to listen to Loreen Niewenhuis talk about her latest book “A 1,000-Mile Great Lakes Island Adventure.” This is the third in her trilogy of Great Lakes adventures — I loved the first two; the first about her walk around Lake Michigan and the second about her walk on the shores of portions of all five Great Lakes.

Her talk was excellent and I can’t wait to read the new book. I opened it at random in three places last night and laughed out loud each time. She can write! Even while you’re learning about things you may never have thought about you’re enjoying the adventure of it all in her books.

Sunset glow

Sunset glow

I love Northport, the little town at the tip of Michigan’s pinky finger. I can’t think of a place more lovely, more welcoming, more serene. Lucky for me I have a friend or two there, so I was able to camp on a lawn near Lake Michigan on Tuesday night after Loreen’s talk at the local library. The sunset that night was spectacular.

Beautiful water.

Beautiful water.

I didn’t take a lot of photos this trip, other than the sunset, at least there on the lake. Instead I enjoyed swimming in the cool clear water of Lake Michigan, listening to a bit of jazz at a local restaurant, conversation with friends, and sleeping out under the stars.

OK. So I didn’t really notice the stars much. I slept better out there on the front lawn than I’ve slept in a good long while and I don’t think I woke at all until morning. Must have been the lake air.

It’s cherry harvesting time in Northport and I stopped on my way out of town to get a photo.

Looks like a good year for cherries.

Looks like a good year for cherries.

Don’t they look good? In my family we love tart cherries even more than the sweet versions. I wanted to grab a bucket and pick a few pounds, but I guess that would be stealing. So I bought a quart at a stand and ate them on the way home.

Have I mention I really love this place?

Sand clings to my memories.

Sand clings to my memories.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Overnight in paradise

  1. I’ve been working under the blazing Alabama sun all day. I come in for lunch, read your post, look at the pictures, then I feel 30′ cooler and serene. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Sounds like you just took a good for the body and soul trip. Good for you!

    Like

  3. Looks beautiful and peaceful. What a lovely place on earth.

    Like

  4. it does look like a wonderful place – kinda fond of the sweet cherries though 🙂

    Like

  5. How beautiful! I love reading about your adventures. I tell myself “someday” that will be me having them too! Northport – is that anywhere near our blog friend Gerry? Haven’t heard anything from the Writing Studio and Bait Shop in a long time but I think of her and the duo often. I was just looking at one of her last posts from when you and Katie visited last summer.

    Like

  6. Oh, golly, Michigan cherries. That takes me back. My folks used to order HUGE buckets of them, and they were spectacular. You just can’t get stuff like that here without paying a fortune. Thanks for the memories — and the sunsets *were* spectacular!

    Like

  7. That is an amazing sunset. It truly does look and sound like paradise. I’m going to check out the books. They sound like something I would like. 🙂

    Like

    • My favorite was the first one, her walk around Lake Michigan, because, I guess, it was an adventure that I could see would be appealing and everyone needs an adventure! I enjoy her writing, and she’s really neat to meet in person too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

