Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Don’t rush me

24 Comments

Over the weekend I saw a couple of television advertisements that inferred school was right around the corner. Then late Sunday night I saw the National Football League talking about Monday night football coming soon.

Does anyone know what this is?  It was in the pond.

Does anyone know what this is? It was in the pond.

Soon?!

Is fall really right around the corner? Is my summer of freedom winding down already?

Yellow glow

Yellow glow

Sunday on my walk in a local park I saw….gasp….horror…..goldenrod! I didn’t have a camera with me and I didn’t want to record it anyway.

Much better to ignore all of this.

Grass ready to go to seed

Grass ready to go to seed

This morning, early, I headed back out to the park. But instead of the usual walk along the bike path I took the camera and wandered among the nature trails. At the beginning of my walk a man, also with camera, was coming off the hill. He smiled at me and said “Just about perfect isn’t it!?” I smiled back and agreed.

Reaching for the sky

Reaching for the sky

The nature trail winds around a hill behind the nature center. It’s surrounded with fields and hills popping with wildflowers. I scared up a rabbit or two, a few larger birds, a few bumble bees.

Mostly I was on my own, listening to the crunching of my own feet, and lost in the photos around every corner.

Hills are alive

Hills are alive

This is what summer should be. Aimless wandering through fields of wildflowers under a blue sky, a slight breeze tugging at your hair.

Nowhere to be. No to do list. Just sunshine, flowers, fresh air and delight.

Dew

Dew

Fall will show up soon enough, but for right now I’m going to concentrate on summer.

I wish each of you a day like this, somewhere close to you, sometime when you get a moment.

Go for a walk.

Go for a walk.

Soon.

Bench for contemplation

Bench for contemplation

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

24 thoughts on “Don’t rush me

  1. I’m thinking that maybe this change to retirement hasn’t been too hard with days like this.

    Like

  2. Pickerel weed flower 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is what it should be all about when we reach the age where we can relax after all those years of working. But maybe we should take those moments wherever we are in life rather than wait until we are gifted with one.

    Like

  4. I can smell the sun and the grass! Happy trails, Dawn. Chew on a grass blade and feel for us poor schmoes working on such a beautiful day.

    Like

  5. Lovely flowers! Oh, so fresh to begin my Tuesday 🙂
    Thank you…

    Like

  6. Just lovely Dawn – beautifully captured.

    Like

  7. We were thinking the same thing — about football commercials already!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dawn, your photos this morning are delightful, especially the header with the row of turtles! I know just what you mean. When somebody told me recently that school starts in just a few weeks, I was stunned. How can that be? Wasn’t it just the Fourth of July?? At least you don’t have to fret over reporting to a JOB, right?!

    Like

  9. Love the dew on the tall grass
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  10. Dear Dawn (and Katie, too),
    I received a card in the mail today, one that did as intended. It made me smile. Thank you so much for thinking of me!

    And thank you, too, for this wonderful walk. Your photos are gorgeous, and I love your philosophy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Looks lovely! I cant walk in my field anymore. They are building a road through the field. Ugh!!

    Like

  12. So nice. I should really get out there and walk and enjoy this summer before it is gone. I’m trying so hard, especially this year, not to let it pass by in a blink.

    Like

Leave a Reply

