Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Suburban wildlife – or- not so wordless Wednesday

15 Comments

It’s beginning to amaze me the beautiful things that are in my yard during any given day. And to think all this has been going on here at home for years while I’ve been off at work.

Katie likes to bark a warning to us humans sitting on the sofa. By the time we get up and look outside she has managed to chase whatever it was away. But just in the last two days I’ve noticed, on my own with no help from her, plenty of goings on in the yard.

Of course we have the Orioles visiting daily. Sometimes hourly. Do you think this one is a juvenile or just a wet female?

Looking for "more grape jelly lady!!"

Looking for “more grape jelly lady!!”

It’s a good thing Katie didn’t see this little guy at the birdbath right outside her favorite window.

"Hey!  Anybody in there?!"

“Hey! Anybody in there?!”

Do you think the butterfly on the house realizes there are two garter snakes curled up sleepily below?

Look out below!

Look out below!

And just now, in the back yard we had a visitor. Katie didn’t see this either.

Looking for rabbits in all the right places.

Looking for rabbits in all the right places.

Good thing she didn’t. All heck would have broken out.

What's that smell over there?

What’s that smell over there?

So much going on in my own yard that I don’t have time for cooking and cleaning and such. Must keep vigilent, as a sheltie, who will remain nameless, seems to be napping on the job.

STILL no grape jelly lady!

STILL no grape jelly lady!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “Suburban wildlife – or- not so wordless Wednesday

  1. a fox???? Wow! Your photos are stunning- and the fox is quite a capture!

    Like

  2. Great post! Wild kingdom!

    Like

  3. Wow, now that cool!!!

    Like

  4. Love it! Well, except the snakes.

    Like

  5. Wow! That’s wild!

    Like

  6. All the animals make your home extra wonderful! We used to live on Prince Edward Island and had regular foxes live in our yard. Once when I was putting up the stuff for a yard sale on our driveway one came up to inspect what was for sale! Loved your pics!

    Like

  7. I’m going with juvenile on the oriole. I think we don’t have any fox here, but there are lots of things that go bump in the dark and in the light of day that set Shasta off – and that I never get there quickly enough to see.

    Like

  8. Agree with Carol about the juvenile oriole. Just saw the adult mail fly up to the top of the hook where the juvie sat and feed him/her something. The juvenile flapped his/her wings and was very excited to get the treat. And then it flew down and helped itself to the grape jelly below.

    Like

  9. That fox is really an exciting visitor.

    Like

  10. You got a zoo in your backyard! You need to charge admission.

    Like

  11. Very nice shot! I, also, hardly ever see stuff in my back yard except by chance, because the dogs always go out when I go out. You’re lucky at the variety and on being able to see it all. Happy retirement experiences!

    Like

  12. with so much going on there (I cannot believe the fox! OMG!), do you think Katie needs to hire additional security? If so, Dakota is ready, willing and able!

    Like

  13. just think of all the things you have missed – but all the things you will see in the future

    Like

  14. A fox!! How wonderful. I laughed at your captions for the orioles. You’ve reminded me that I bought grape jelly in order to try to attract some orioles, and then promptly put it in the pantry and forgot all about it.

    Good thing Katie has you there to keep an eye on things. 😀

    Like

  15. Orioles like grape jellly? I didn’t know that! What do you put it out for them in?
    Love that butterfly on the wall – I don’t think I’ve ever seen one colored like that around here.
    If you get a chance to see my first post in the photo challenge you invited me to, you’ll see something we have in common in our yards! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

