Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Camping contemplations

27 Comments

Many of you know that Katie the dog and I went camping last week. What you might not have known is that the State Park where we pitched our tent is only one exit and six miles north of home.

This is my campsite!

This is my campsite!


But it’s a world away.

I’ve been thinking the last few days about why we’d go camping so close to home. Why not just pitch the tent in the back yard? (And you know we do that too.) Why go to the trouble of packing up the car with tent and bedroll, pillows, blankets, food, leashes, dog dishes, cameras, tinder, firewood. The dog and her crate.

Got any snacks mama?

Got any snacks mama?

Why walk almost 1500 steps to the bathroom and back in the middle of the night? Why drench yourself and the dog with bug spray and sunblock, sleep in two (or three) layers of clothes under several blankets, wake up with a start at every snapped branch in the woods.

Welcome to my tent!

Welcome to my tent!

Why not just take walks in the woods with your dog during the day and sleep in your own bed safe, sound and warm in your own house every night? Why, as soon as you get home, do you immediately want to plan the next trip?

And here’s what I’ve realized. When you’re out in the woods for hours on end, you slow down. You notice that bird you’ve never seen before. You listen to all the birds begin to sing long before the sun comes up. You read a book. You take a walk. You take a nap. Then you read some more, contemplate the campfire, maybe raise a roasted marshmallow in toast to the memories of camping with family all those years ago.

You relax.

Our perfect private site!

Our perfect private site!

When you camp away from home there is no laundry that should be started, no gardens to weed, no groceries to be found, meals to be cooked. When you camp away from home you find peace and freedom and beauty and quiet joy.

And that’s why Katie and I are already thinking about our next adventure.

Close to home.

Wake up mama!

Wake up mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

27 thoughts on “Camping contemplations

  1. You’ve hit it in a nutshell! Away from home, duties and chores do not exist and what is left is to look, listen and hear. Those gems we too often forget to take out of their boxes.

    Like

  2. no distractions but for nature (and perhaps its call 🙂 ) it is a welcome solitude I imagine.

    Like

  3. We’ve gone camping at Pocahontas State Park which is only 8 miles away. You are right, we might as well be 800 miles away.

    Like

    • It was even a jarring to drive back home on the busy road. I had felt so very far away from civilization it felt strange to be back among the bustling rest of the world.

      Like

  4. I was talking to a guy I met in the park this morning, and he said, “I literally bump into so many people here, because the minute I enter the park, I get so lost in its beauty I’m not even watching where I’m going. All my stress just melts away.”

    Same for me.

    I may not be a camper or much of a traveler, but I’m an expert at escaping without going far.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One year I proposed to David that we take our September vacation at home. There are so many beautiful corners of Leelanau County that we don’t have time to visit when we’re busy in the summer. His response: “That’s the worst idea I’ve ever heard! If we stay home, we’ll do nothing but work.” You’ve got a point, Dawn. David made the same point.

    Like

  6. You make some valid points, Dawn, but camping isn’t for me. I guess I’m too much of a city girl — and Dallas, for sure, is a city dog. We wouldn’t sleep a wink for worrying about bugs, snakes, things that go BUMP in the night, etc. Nope, we’ll just enjoy your camping vicariously, okay??!

    Like

  7. it sounds perfect and excellent reasons

    Like

  8. I kept thinking you were going to say because its fun and I like it. LOL

    Like

  9. An ode to camping that I can get behind! Pass the marshmallows please 🙂

    Like

  10. So funny as I just wrote a post on camping close to home! We are on the same wave length… We found it relaxing as well.. once the set up is done, down time can follow!

    Like

  11. You make it sound very zen. I enjoy my brief camping trips with the dogs. We should really do it when we are not at a show and busy helping etc. I might have to copy you and go camping nearby. Maybe I could camp at work? lol!
    -Dee

    Like

  12. Amen, sister!

    Like

Leave a Reply

