Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Memories of black raspberries

16 Comments

Berries in bowl

Berries in bowl


Warm, sweet, juice running down your fingers. That’s the way I remember the black raspberries I picked behind my grandpa’s workshop on the farm years ago when I was a kid. We each got to spend a few days at grandma’s house during the summers back then. I tried to choose days when the black raspberries were ripe and if we were lucky Grandma and I had fresh berries on our cereal every morning.

Years later my sister came here for a visit and we went for a long bike ride. One of the highlights that day was coming across a huge patch of black raspberries, hundreds ripe for the picking. So we did, turning our fingers purple with memories.

This year in my own backyard, where I haven’t noticed any growing before, I found plump ripe berries today. Reaching into the thorny bushes for the perfect berry I was 12 again and back behind the workshop picking for my grandma’s breakfast.

It was sweet.

Grandpa's workshop

Grandpa’s workshop

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Memories of black raspberries

  1. Beautiful pictures. Envious of your Grandpa’s workshop.

    Like

  2. Great memories and wonderful story and pictures.

    Like

  3. Love the picture of the black raspberries!

    Like

  4. Love this, Dawn. Love your photo, too. Nice!

    Like

  5. I remember picking wild berries with my mother when I was a kid. I now have what I think might be black raspberries growing here and there in my yard – presumably there is a parent plant somewhere in the vicinity that the birds visit before returning to my yard.

    Like

    • Cool! We always picked berries with my mom too. It runs in the family I guess. Birds like the black raspberries, so get out there and get yours first!

      Like

  6. What a FUN memory! I remember the old guy behind our house growing up had raspberries — lots of them — and they were so delicious!!

    Like

  7. I have good memories of picking berries with my dad in the woods, coming home covered in scratches from the thorns.

    Jeff keeps telling me there are some behind the garage……I need to get out there with a bowl.

    Like

  8. never been a fan on fresh berries for some reason – don’t find them very sweet – but love them in jam 🙂

    Like

  9. Glad u found some berries that brought back sweet memories.

    Like

  10. Yummy! Delicious memory, too. 🙂 For me it was blueberries, and eating as many as I could while I was picking them. We have black raspberries here on the ranch. They’re growing in all the thickets and there are some in the meadows as well.

    Like

  11. Nice! I was surprised last year by blackberries growing in my yard that I’ve never seen before. It was a delicious treat discovered on the day I came home from vacation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

