Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Yard treasures

16 Comments

Mr. Oriole comes for grape jelly.

Mr. Oriole comes for grape jelly.


One of the joys of being retired is time spent in my own back yard. There’s time to sit on the deck out back, watch the clouds scoot by, the light change on the birch trees, the birds coming in shifts to feed, even the grass growing. What a treat.

Ripening black raspberries.

Ripening black raspberries.


I remember the days when, while backing out of the driveway on my way to work, I noticed the early morning sun on the front of the house and felt a pang that another beautiful day at home was going to slide by without me. Now I have to keep reminding myself that I get to stay and enjoy the peace.
Gift from blue jay.

Gift from blue jay.

I constantly catch myself feeling sad that a day is ending, a weekend finished, a week gone by. It’s as if my body is automatically gearing up to go back to work after a vacation, sad that it’s ending. And then I remember that it’s not.

Roses bloom.

Roses bloom.

So if you see me smiling quietly to myself you’ll know I’m just mentally pinching myself.

And enjoying the treasures in my own yard.

Mrs. Oriole visits for a snack.

Mrs. Oriole visits for a snack.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Yard treasures

  1. Earned pleasures, precious treasures!

    Like

  2. Time to enjoy the little things in life.

    Like

  3. wonderful photos- especially that first of the Oriole! Keep smiling!

    Like

  4. Ahhh, putzing around the yard…my favorite way to spend a day.

    Like

  5. Dawn, I love your header — are those Hydrangeas growing in that perfect back yard of yours?? If so, no wonder you’re happy with your decision to retire (bet Katie is, too!!)

    Like

  6. You have a wonderful back yard. Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Like

  7. Beautiful pictures. Love the Oriole.

    Like

    • Thank you! He’s been hanging around more this summer. He is really interesting. Flies REALLY fast..makes such a loud noise when he’s upset. Is a total pig with the jelly. Really really beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I remember feeling the same on my way to work and also when I had to go to bed well before sunset. I felt like I was missing out.
    I don’t miss anything about working. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love these pictures
    Lily & Edward

    Like

Leave a Reply

