Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

WordPress Photo Challenge: Muse II

12 Comments

Muse:   a spirit or source that inspires an artist. 

Family farms have always inspired me.  Especially those that are in wide open spaces, surrounded by the crops they grow.

Early morning light on barn.

Early morning light on barn.

My mom’s family has farmed for four generations.  I guess that’s where I get my appreciation for the beauty that is farmland.

Amber waves of grain.

Amber waves of grain.

Farms are always changing, as the grain ripens, the soybeans turn yellow, the corn puts out tassels.

Corn is knee high by the 4th of July.

Corn: knee high by the 4th of July.

Slow down, don’t speed through farm country the next time you’re there, take a moment to look.  It’s where your food comes from.

And it’s beautiful.

Barn for sale.

Farm for sale.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: Muse II

  1. beautiful- would be one of my choices too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is where your nourishment comes from.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A way of life that’s disappearing, unfortunately. I love big old barns.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. without them most of the world would pretty much starve !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My dad and nephew were following me in a car last week as we went from the zipline farm to the ice cream stand. I drive this farm road every day to and from work.

    My dad was driving so slow! I had to keep slowing down so he could catch up. Then, I finally realized he was taking in all this beautiful scenery that I get to see every day.

    I’m a lucky girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Thrift Story Candy | litadoolan

  7. Aw, gee, Dawn, this is such a lovely tribute to farm country! I think living here, we too often fail to SEE how beauty (and food) surround us — thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. nothing better than a good old fashioned red barn!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Muse : The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge - Sylvain LANDRY

  10. Farms are often my muse, too. The way the sunlight plays in the fields throughout the day, the way the crops change, and barns (especially barns like that red barn you’re featuring) are all so beautiful. Great images, Dawn. I bet your muse is proud. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

