Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Retirement Reflections

12 Comments

Reflections

Reflections

It’s Monday morning, sometime before 7:00 a.m., and I’m up and out the door.  Only as I’m backing down the driveway do I remember all the past Monday mornings when I’ve headed out about this same time on my way to work.

Early morning.

Early morning.

But this morning I’m not going to work.

I’m headed out to a hillside I’ve noticed over the years.  Yesterday on our way to somewhere else I noticed the grass was a beautiful golden brown and I knew I had to get back with the camera soon before the farmer turned it all into hay.

As I park on the side of the road, pausing to let commuters zoom by, I begin to smile.  I smile because it’s a beautiful day, the sun just topping the trees, small puffy clouds in a blue sky, a cool breeze gently tossing the grass.

Field of grass.

Field of grass.

And I smile because I’m not on my way to work.

Driving leisurely back toward home after capturing the field I stop at a local park to enjoy the glassy pond.

Swimming hole.

Swimming hole.

Sigh.

I’ve got to say that even weeding is looking pretty good to me right now.

Summer arrives

Summer arrives

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Retirement Reflections

  1. wonderful- beautiful- glad you are enjoying and embracing in your new found freedom!

    Like

  2. My husband, who is also retired would agree with you. I work from home and have to say that I enjoy many of the same “perks” and they can’t be beat! Your photos are exquisite! Enjoy!

    Like

  3. isn’t it nice just to have the time to enjoy little things 🙂

    Like

  4. The bliss of freedom! The field was worth the trip.

    Like

  5. So happy for you that it is working out well for you and that you are content. Loved the pics.

    Like

  6. I’m so glad that you just get to enjoy your views now! No wistful drive-by’s. Time to stop and take picture of the roses 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sounds like a blissful morning.

    While driving to the park this morning, I saw everyone else rushing off to work this morning, and even a school bus stopping (elementary schools are still in session), and drivers getting restless as kids slowly boarded. But not me! Oh how good free time can be for the soul.

    Like

  8. Sometimes I would like to retire. But then I would just be at home all alone and that just sucks. Never anyone to eat dinner with, no one to go on walks with. Ugh.

    Like

  9. Oh beautiful for spacious skies, and amber waves of grain. . .

    Like

  10. So good to read of your happiness, Dawn.

    Like

  11. These are beautiful reflections, Dawn, in both words and images. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

