Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Define retirement

31 Comments

 

Dogwood in morning.

Dogwood in morning.

Two weeks into retirement and I find myself continually confused.  In a good way.

I don’t wear a watch and since I’m not sitting at my desk with a computer monitor and phone, both declaring the time, I have no idea as the day progresses what time it is.

Turns out it doesn’t matter.

I go to bed when I’m sleepy and Katie-girl gets me up in the morning when she’s not, generally earlier than I’d wake on my own.  But that’s no problem, we go about her business and then go back to bed.  Or not.

It really doesn’t matter.

Peony in pink.

Peony in pink.

I don’t know what day it is either.  I suppose that will become more of a problem when I schedule appointments or volunteer for something.  Or set a deadline for a some project.

But at the moment it doesn’t matter.

Predictably, the good intentions I had for retirement — going out for a walk every morning, spending an hour a day weeding flower beds hasn’t materialized.  It’s rained you know.

Excuses, excuses.

Damp poppy

Damp poppy

But the good news is that in retirement there’s always another morning.  Nothing has to get done today, there’s time tomorrow.  And the next tomorrow.

Which still surprises me.  And leads to naps in the middle of the day.

The definition of retirement turns out to be time.

What a luxury.

Clematis center

Clematis center

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

31 thoughts on “Define retirement

  1. My problem with the definition of retirement is that all that time seems to get by me with very little being accomplished too often. Oh well.

    Like

  2. I think once the newness wears off, you might find yourself very busy in your retirement. It will still be hard to remember which day it is though.

    Like

  3. Sounds luxurious! I have 5 more days, and then I can enter my “mini retirement” for the next ten weeks. It’s such a tease though. Still, I’m lucky to get the time and practice for when I really can retire.

    Like

  4. It sounds wonderful! Our government just put our retirement age up so I’ve got just under 40 years to go now. 😦 oh well.

    Like

  5. Luxury! Precisely!

    Like

  6. It does takes some time to sink in and your body to relax. I haven’t retired but I do work for myself and found that to be true when I left corporate America for motherhood. Nothing beats being master of your own time. Glad you are enjoying. Pretty picture.

    Like

  7. That’s the way I felt this past winter, Dawn. It wasn’t retirement for me, only a 3-month sabbatical, but I guess that may be the way I’ll have to take “retirement” — in bits here and there, rather than all at the end. But yes, TIME! What greater luxury can there be?

    Like

  8. Happy retirement! Timeliness is good.

    Like

  9. Well Im glad you are relaxing. It would bother me not knowing what day it is. And I always wear a watch even during summer break. I like knowing the time. Even though I may not have any plans, its nice to know how long I walked the dogs or if I took some motrin, what time I took it.

    Like

  10. sounds like retirement is going exactly how it should be 🙂

    Like

  11. I quit watches and alarm clocks when I retired. 🙂

    Like

  12. You sound like me in the summer time! I lose track of the days and the time – truly is a luxury!

    Like

  13. You’re one in a million. Truly and really, most people I’ve known who are recently retired are NOT grateful. Instead of taking this life changing event in strides and reevaluating their position, they become curmudgeons! Kudos to you for deciding to remain a happy person!

    Like

  14. My husband is retiring in 2 weeks. I will be envious of him and you. I shall chug along for another 5 years minimally, unless my alternate retirement savings plan materializes (winning the lotto). Naps! Bliss!

    Like

    • I know 5 years seems like a long time. And it is. But I also know it will go by in a flash. Congratulations to your husband! Maybe he will do the house stuff now and then it will seem a little more like a vacation for you!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. And time can be one of the best gifts of all. 🙂 Beautiful flowers and raindrops.

    Like

  16. Enjoy – I know my day will come and when it does, I hope I am read with a plan. I get a rehearsal every summer with summer vacation, it’s only a tease because I have to go back to school. Take the time you need to breath, but keep making the days count. Always.

    Like

    • Good advice. I have wasted a couple of days, just the luxury of not having to be anywhere..but the gardens need weeding so I should stop napping!

      Like

Leave a Reply

