Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Epic, windy, wet adventure

25 Comments

Our beautiful campsite!

Our beautiful campsite!

Katie here.  Mama says I’m monopolizing her blog but what’s she got to talk about anyway now that she’s retired?  Right?  Of course I’m right.  I’m a princess.

So anyway, last January mama reserved a campsite for this weekend right on the shore of Lake Michigan! It’s about five hours from home and I have to say I was an excellent traveler.  I didn’t bark at her once the whole way up there!

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

First there was the planning and the packing and the loading of the car.  I was afraid she might forget to take me so I stuck really close to her.

Don't forget me mama!

Don’t forget me mama!

She didn’t forget me but she did forget my bed!  GEEZE mama!  She must be getting old.  That’s OK…I figured I’d just sleep on hers.

This is for me - - right?

This is for me – – right?

Our campsite was really beautiful, right on the shore.  Friday afternoon mama took me for a walk along the sand by the waves.  I did not like it.  Not one bit.

Not getting any closer than this mama!

Not getting any closer than this mama!

The only water I want anything to do with is the water in my bowl and it doesn’t make scarey noises like those waves did!

Since all mama’s romantic notions of walking me on the beach were dashed we went into town.  This was more like it!  I went up and down the steps of the marina no problem.  (Mama is beginning to realize I’m scamming her about not doing steps at home.)

Buy me one of these mama!

Buy me one of these mama!

I even went out on the floating docks at the marina, and the boats were rocking and squeaking and the docks were moving and I was OK with it.  Mostly.

I guess I’m more of a city kid than a beach bum.  But I did like my tent!  Every night my mama made a campfire and settled in to read her book next to it and every night I went over and pawed at the tent door.  Cause I wanted to go to bed already.  Mama just sighed and we went to bed.

Mama made me a bed out of her pillows.

Mama made me a bed out of her pillows.

Because a princess always gets what she wants.  Don’t you know.  And every morning I got my mama up around 5:00, because even though we were on vacation I didn’t shirk my responsibilities.

Time to get up mama!

Time to get up mama!

Do you know that people in campgrounds don’t get up that early?  That was cool, we had the whole place to ourselves.  We tiptoed down the road and I did my jobs and then we tiptoed back and went back to bed.  It worked out great

We had two evenings of beautiful sunsets.  Mama made me go back out on the beach to see those.  It was OK, I was sort of getting used to the waves.

Friday night

Friday night

And in the end whatever makes mama happy makes me happy.

We were supposed to be there three nights, but there were thunderstorms coming.  The clouds were low and heavy on Sunday morning.  Mama began to worry.

Mama used the 'dramatic' button on the camera to show you the clouds.

Mama used the ‘dramatic’ button on the camera to show you the clouds better.

She talked to dad on the phone and decided we’d leave early.  Of course we had to go into town to use the phone and by the time we got back it was raining.  Mama packed up the car as fast as she could.

Hurry up mama!

Hurry up mama!

Everything was soggy.  Even me!

Can't we stay mama?

Can’t we stay mama?

We were sad to leave a day early, but we are very happy that we got to go at all!

On the way home we stopped at a little park and I got to walk on a bridge over the Au Sable River.

Still raining.

Still raining.

Mama says she used to canoe on this river when she was a little girl.  It made her smile.  And I found her a beautiful flower along the river too!  Cause I love my mama.

Along the river.

Along the river.

We had a wonderful time, but I’m glad to be home.  I missed my dad a lot.  Plus it was cold, and I don’t like cold so much.  And then there were those waves.  And the sand.  And the mud.  I got wet.  I wasn’t that thrilled about the campfire either.  Hmmmm…..maybe camping in the back yard isn’t all that bad!

Anyway…I guess that’s all for now from your friend Katie – camper extraordinaire.

Kind of.

Don't like sand in my fur mama!

Don’t like sand in my fur mama!

 

 

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

25 thoughts on “Epic, windy, wet adventure

  1. Right on! Let the adventures begin!

    Like

  2. It sure sounds like you had a pawsome adventure. The pictures sure are pawsome.

    Like

  3. looks like a wonderful adventure- even if it was cut short. I always love your photos!

    Like

  4. What A cool campsite, with your own beautiful boulder!

    Like

  5. Great adventure even if it was cut short. Love the sunset picture!

    Like

  6. Hmmmm I think katie might be more of a RV camper – one with air conditioning and heat 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great place. Forgot your bed! At least you had her bed to sleep on
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  8. Katie, you are INDEED a little princess! Dallas has never been that close to rolling waves and sand, but I don’t think he’d like it much. He’s never been camping, either, because his mama doesn’t like *that* much! Still, what a great adventure you had, and now that your mama has retired, perhaps you’ll get to go on LOTS more adventures?!!

    Like

  9. What a cool adventure! You had such a prime camping site. I just love the sunset. The colors are amazing.

    The best part about going away…coming home to your own bed!

    Like

  10. Other than the rain coming in and you had to leave early, it sounded great. My dogs always get up early too.

    Like

  11. So cute! What a time you had.. sounds very refreshing. In India we hardly have a space for such a quite campsite. Nice to know your experience, Katie’s been good..

    Like

  12. I love that you and your mama go out on adventures of your own. It looks like a beautiful place to camp (even with the rain and mud and waves). 🙂

    Like

  13. Sounds like a terrific adventure, Princess Katie. I’m glad you eventually decided the waves aren’t so bad. They are beautiful enough for a princess for sure – and far nicer than that rain that befell you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

