Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Five photos, five days #4

16 Comments

Imported Photos 00661

Once upon a time there was a little girl who watched the planes overhead and wondered where everyone was going.  She imagined them landing in some exotic place like California or Arizona or Florida or Hawaii.  Places away from here.

Turns out that little girl grew up to be an adult who watches planes overhead and wonders where everyone is going.  And she still imagines them landing in exotic places like Paris and Rome – – or less exotic but away from here places like Kansas or South Dakota.

And even though she’s been lucky enough to see all of these places she still wishes she was on the plane or the train or just the road going somewhere away from here.

Today’s post is part of Carol’s challenge – Five photos, five days, where you post a photo and tell a story, fiction or not, maybe even poetry.  And each day you nominate someone to play along.  Today I nominate Lassie and Benji…sort of a two for one.  Because their mom takes fun photos and I’m sure she will have some stories to tell.  Not on Lassie or Benji, of course, just about Lassie and Benji!

Imported Photos 00891

 

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Five photos, five days #4

  1. I have always done that… and of course, as travel obsessed as I am, still do. Brings back many memories as a kid looking at the sky and wondering. Thanks for this, Cheryl

    Like

  2. When I see all those trails across the sky – I often wonder how they don’t all crash into each other ?

    Like

  3. So many places to see, so little time. I want a magic carpet.

    Like

  4. The heart that beated as a child is still the same heart that beats now. Our inner self never really changes, does it?

    Like

  5. Cool little story and streaky picture
    Snorts,
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  6. The lure of “far away from here” is strong in me, too, Dawn. Thanks for such a beautiful story!

    Like

  7. I like the photo but especially your accompanying story. I think I know who that little girl was.

    Like

  8. Wonderful story, and photos. I hope the “she” in your story gets her wish to keep traveling. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

